2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
29 members (Burkhard, AlkansBookcase, brennbaer, cmoody31, dh371, 20/20 Vision, admodios, 8 invisible), 1,230 guests, and 329 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
D
OP Offline
D
Hi all,

I'm a classically trained pianist of 8 years - I've taken all the grades and am now at University studying music with Piano as my first instrument. I have recently realised that though I've always played 'classical' music, particularly 'romantic' pieces, I've got the mentality of a Jazz pianist and have found it quite easy to change my focus from classical to jazz.

It'd be really great if you guys could suggest any Jazz piano classics for me to try - I'm particularly enjoying swing, boogie-woogie and 'lounge' jazz at the minute, as well as New Orleans style blues.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated, and if you can put me onto some sheet music that'd be even better!

Thanks,

D.

T
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
T
I'm afraid that jazz - largely an improvisational form - and sheet music don't usually go together. You could certainly find some boogie-woogie sheet music - not necessarily jazz. Gershwin wrote a number of arrangements of his own pieces - those are available. You can find transcriptions of solos - in magazines and online, but without accompaniment. Can anyone contradict me? Are there "jazz" arrangements of any sophistication out there?

J
jjo Offline
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
J