Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.5 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!


SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Virtual Sheet Music
Download Sheet Music Instantly
Virtual Sheet Music - Classical Sheet Music Downloads
Sheet Music...
(125ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad)
Modern Piano Moving
Modern Piano Moving
(ad)
Piano Buyer Guide
Piano Buyer Spring 2017
(ad)
Lindeblad Piano
Lindeblad Piano Restorations and sales
Who's Online Now
60 registered members (AndyP, Blazeboard, Bambers, 36251, Buckster, Bourniplus, 11 invisible), 1,276 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers

Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Directory/Site Map
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords & Scales
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#2083428 - 05/16/13 12:21 AM Casio PX-5S - zone volume on knob/slider  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 13
egoaudio Offline
Junior Member
egoaudio  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 13
Seattle, wa
Hello all,

Got the px-5s today and freaking loving it! Got a newb question for those who might know. How do you assign volume control for specific zone to a knob or a slider?

I've tried going into edit "common" and zone but can't see where I choose a zone volume control... Or do I have to choose a tone for a layer first and then assign volume control to the layer?

I just want to be able to slide or turn knobs to change sounds instead of turning zones on/off.... I'm sure this can be done. Can anyone help, please?

Thanks in advance.

Erik


(ad) ROLAND

Click Here

#2083432 - 05/16/13 12:33 AM Re: Casio PX-5S - zone volume on knob/slider [Re: egoaudio]  
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 452
Mike_Martin Offline
Full Member
Mike_Martin  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 452
Between Chicago and NJ, USA
Erik,
I'll get you a detailed answer here tomorrow but the basics are explained here.

http://www.casiomusicforums.com/index.php?/topic/4200-new-owner-have-questions/



-Mike Martin
Casio America

Casio Music Forums
#2083593 - 05/16/13 09:45 AM Re: Casio PX-5S - zone volume on knob/slider [Re: egoaudio]  
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 452
Mike_Martin Offline
Full Member
Mike_Martin  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 452
Between Chicago and NJ, USA
Erik,
Thanks for getting a PX-5S! smile

The sliders and knobs on the PX-5S are highly configurable. Each slider or knob can do two things at once. Each zone can determine if it uses that physical controller or not.

So for example if you wanted sliders 1-4 to be zone volume. I'd recommend setting it like this:

Slider 1: CC#11 Expression
Slider 2: CC#11 Expression
Slider 3: CC#11 Expression
Slider 4: CC#11 Expression

Then in the Controllers section for Each Zone, you can do this:
Zone 1: Slider 1 ON, Slider 2,3,4 OFF
Zone 2: Slider 2 ON, Slider 1,3,4 OFF
Zone 3: Slider 3 ON, Slider 1,2,4 OFF
Zone 4: Slider 4 ON, Slider 1,2,3 OFF


-Mike Martin
Casio America

Casio Music Forums
#2083665 - 05/16/13 12:29 PM Re: Casio PX-5S - zone volume on knob/slider [Re: Mike_Martin]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 13
egoaudio Offline
Junior Member
egoaudio  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 13
Seattle, wa
Hi Mike,

Thanks so much! I'll work on this when I get home today.

I'm sure you get this alot, but I wanted to mention how your presence and willingness to assist others with your products is part of the reason why I ordered the PX-5S prior to seeing it!

You the man!

Best regards,

Erik

(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
#2084480 - 05/17/13 11:21 PM Re: Casio PX-5S - zone volume on knob/slider [Re: egoaudio]  
Joined: May 2012
Posts: 13
egoaudio Offline
Junior Member
egoaudio  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2012
Posts: 13
Seattle, wa
Hello all,

I managed to easily turn the knobs into volume controls for each zone and save my first stage setup. I wonder though, can i have all zones ON in the setup but only have one sound be defaulted to have volume... what im getting at is that when I have knobs 2-4 turned off with only knob 1 turned up and I select my stage setup, all sounds default to full volume when I really only want one to default to full volume.

I really like to just be able to control volumes instead of hitting buttons to turn zones on and off while playing, that's what I'm after, similar to my Kawai MP6.

Any ideas?

Thanks,

Erik

P.S. Really looking forward to the computer sound/zone editor. This will work with Windows correct?

Last edited by egoaudio; 05/17/13 11:22 PM.
#2084486 - 05/17/13 11:52 PM Re: Casio PX-5S - zone volume on knob/slider [Re: egoaudio]  
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 452
Mike_Martin Offline
Full Member
Mike_Martin  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 452
Between Chicago and NJ, USA
Erik,
Simply turn down three of the knobs then re-save the Stage Setting.

No offense to Pianoworld but there aren't too many PX-5S users hanging out here yet. I'm leaving for Japan so support here over the next week will be limited. I would recommend that you join www.casiomusicforums.com or the PX-5S Facebook users group. At least until I get back. ;-)


-Mike Martin
Casio America

Casio Music Forums
#2084493 - 05/18/13 12:16 AM Re: Casio PX-5S - zone volume on knob/slider [Re: egoaudio]  
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 452
Mike_Martin Offline
Full Member
Mike_Martin  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 452
Between Chicago and NJ, USA
Correction, simply saving again would only work if the knobs were set to CC#7 Volume instead of CC#11 expression.


-Mike Martin
Casio America

Casio Music Forums

Moderated by  Piano World 

Piano Acc. & Gift Items in
Piano World's Online Store
In PianoSupplies.com ,(a division of Piano World) our online store for piano and music gifts and accessories, party goods, tuning equipment, piano moving equipment, benches, lamps Caster Cups and more.


Free Shipping on Jansen Artist Piano Benches
ad
Pierce Piano Atlas


(ad)
Pianoteq
Grotrian Concert
Royal
for Pianoteq out now
What's Hot!!
Why Do You Play The Piano?
-------------------
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums RULES & HELP
-------------------
ADVERTISE on Piano World
-------------------
Piano Classified Ads
New Topics - Multiple Forums
On legato and slurs
by Fede. 05/27/17 02:49 AM
What makes a piece difficult
by Emeraldz. 05/27/17 01:12 AM
Rach 3 with our own Jeffrey Biegel
by Piano World. 05/27/17 12:21 AM
Kawai or not Kawai - that is the question
by Pianolance. 05/26/17 11:40 PM
(ad)
Sheet Music Plus
Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale
(ad)
Accu-Tuner
Sanderson Accu-Tuner
Report Problems With New Forums
Report Problems with New Forums Here!
Forum Statistics
Forums44
Topics179,913
Posts2,630,184
Members87,895
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers

 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter |


copyright 1997 - 2017 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0