2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
66 members (benkeys, 1200s, aphexdisklavier, akse0435, AlkansBookcase, Alex Hutor, AndyOnThePiano2, amc252, 10 invisible), 1,847 guests, and 273 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
W
Wuffski Offline OP
500 Post Club Member
OP Offline
500 Post Club Member
W
Please help me to clarify the “music rights” situation in a short, easy to understand and pragmatic way. I do not want to do things in a legally incorrect way, just because I don´t know about the legal regulations.

Imagine this situations, which most of you will be very familiar with:
I am a hobbyist piano player and have purchased sheet music from a legal store, the edition is a new one, and also the composer is still alive. Obviously somebody still has rights on the music.
I now want to go to the public with my performance of the piece, either by uploading it to YouTube, or even by playing it somewhere life. But I do not want to violate any rights. So, how to publish my performance legally correct, considering the following, very usual possibilities?