2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
67 members (antune, Colin Miles, anotherscott, AndyOnThePiano2, benkeys, brennbaer, APianistHasNoName, AlkansBookcase, Charles Cohen, 11 invisible), 1,853 guests, and 325 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
kenjazz Offline OP
OP Offline
Does anyone allow recorded accompaniment (backing tracks) to be be played by students during their recitals? I'm an adult jazz student. I mostly have been working on trio or group numbers. I hate to go try to work up a solo number in a week or two (when I haven't been playing that style). I would much rather plug in a Wave radio, turn on the backing track for an arrangement that I've actually worked on and have at it.

It seems like a real recital etiquette problem though. Has anyone ever done this with students? Thanks.

The Melody Never Lies

Schimmel 120J

Learning To Play Jazz Piano After Age 50+
M
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
M
Originally Posted by kenjazz
Has anyone ever done this with students? Thanks.

Yes, probably someone, somewhere on this planet earth at some time in history has.

But I think your question is actually how accepted canned music is in a formal performance situation. I have never even considered allowing any canned music in a recital I'm organizing, and I think most other musicians with an academic background would feel the same.

There are some places where canned background music seems fairly common and accepted: churches and restaurant type gigs. But a student recital is supposed to showcase a student's music, not a canned background track.

Pianist and Piano Teacher