2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
57 members (accordeur, brdwyguy, Carey, AlkansBookcase, 20/20 Vision, Charles Cohen, 36251, benkeys, bcalvanese, 6 invisible), 1,897 guests, and 286 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#2081000 05/11/13 06:53 PM
2000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
2000 Post Club Member
Finally connected the pedal to my P85. Since I'm new to pedaling, I want to ask for some general advice. Is the pedal only for sustaining the notes? At least I didn't notice that a chord sounded any louder by pressing the pedal, but the notes continued sounding. Also, do you pedal before or after playing the notes to be held longer? Seems the pedaling worked both by first pedaling and first playing.

Last edited by TheodorN; 05/11/13 06:54 PM.

Me on YouTube

Casio PX-5S. Garritan CFX, Production Grand 2 Gold, Concert Grand LE, AcousticSamples C7, some Sampletekks. Pianoteq 8 Std (Blüthner, SteinGraeber, NY/HB Steinway D).
TheodorN #2081014 05/11/13 07:19 PM
P
9000 Post Club Member
9000 Post Club Member
P
Pedaling is an extremely complicated aspect of piano performance, but it is absolutely vital to learn to do it correctly, or else your playing is liable to sound like a convoluted mess. I cannot go into it in detail at the moment; however, I suggest you search this forum for discussions of pedaling which may help you figure out how the mechanism of the pedal works and how it can be used to greatest effect.

Regards,

Polyphonist
TheodorN #2081017 05/11/13 07:28 PM
P
9000 Post Club Member
9000 Post Club Member
P
This might help. smile

Regards,

Polyphonist