2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
37 members (Erinmarriott, David Boyce, 20/20 Vision, Animisha, beeboss, Cominut, brennbaer, crab89, aphexdisklavier, admodios, 4 invisible), 1,329 guests, and 280 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
P
OP Offline
P
Hey everyone,

Long time lurker... but now that I'm about to possibly take the plunge, First Post! yay! Okay.

I have been shopping for an upright for about six months now and doing my research for at least a year and an opportunity has come up and, before I take further action, I'd maybe like to briefly ask for some collective wisdom from PW. I should mention that I really liked this piano, so I am trying to be as objective as possible in the process because I realize that emotion can play such a huge role in these things and can lead one astray.

The piano in question is a 1973 used Mason & Hamlin 50 upright. Cosmetically, it looks very good. I really like the tone of the piano and the thing looks great inside (to my untrained eye). I'm a bit put off by the fact that the keys feel a little short but that seems to be a standard thing on some uprights and not others. I have compared it with the modern M&H50 (which I absolutely love... dream piano aside from the Bosendorfer 214) and while it doesn't match it, it's no slouch - although I find the key length of the modern M&H50 to be much much better.