Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.7 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
What's Hot!!
Mr. PianoWorld - the full interview
-------------------
European Tour for Piano Lovers
JOIN US FOR THE TOUR!
--------------------
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums RULES & HELP
-------------------
ADVERTISE on Piano World
Find a Professional
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers

Advertise on Piano World

(ad)
Piano Buyer Guide
Piano Buyer Spring 2018
ad
Pierce Piano Atlas


Who's Online Now
90 registered members (brooster, anotherscott, Bagong, bsntn99, Bruce In Philly, 22 invisible), 1,567 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Directory/Site Map
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords & Scales
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 7 of 12 1 2 5 6 7 8 9 11 12
Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: CyberGene] #2066980
04/19/13 07:46 AM
04/19/13 07:46 AM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 736
Scott Hamlin Offline
500 Post Club Member
Scott Hamlin  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 736
Is the half-pedal feature something that
can be added via a firmware update???

(ad) ROLAND

Click Here

Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: Scott Hamlin] #2067010
04/19/13 08:50 AM
04/19/13 08:50 AM
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,406
The Netherlands
J
JFP Offline
1000 Post Club Member
JFP  Offline
1000 Post Club Member
J

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,406
The Netherlands
Originally Posted by Plinky88
Is the half-pedal feature something that
can be added via a firmware update???


Nope - we had that discussion before. The only solution is to use a pedal to MIDI converter and go into MIDI IN at the Casio. With a half-pedaling capable pedal attached to the MIDI converter of course...

Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: JFP] #2067066
04/19/13 10:22 AM
04/19/13 10:22 AM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 736
Scott Hamlin Offline
500 Post Club Member
Scott Hamlin  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 736
Originally Posted by JFP
Originally Posted by Plinky88
Is the half-pedal feature something that
can be added via a firmware update???


Nope - we had that discussion before. The only solution is to use a pedal to MIDI converter and go into MIDI IN at the Casio. With a half-pedaling capable pedal attached to the MIDI converter of course...


Sorry .. must've missed that somehow...

Anywho.. any idea which one of these bozes
would work for this: MIDI Convertor Boxes - So many choices!!!





Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: Scott Hamlin] #2067082
04/19/13 10:45 AM
04/19/13 10:45 AM
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,716
A
anotherscott Online content
4000 Post Club Member
anotherscott  Online Content
4000 Post Club Member
A

Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,716
Originally Posted by Plinky88
Anywho.. any idea which one of these bozes
would work for this: MIDI Convertor Boxes - So many choices!!!

The Pedal Controller.

(ad) SWEETWATER
Easy Monthly Payments on Keyboards and Synthesizers
Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: anotherscott] #2067102
04/19/13 11:17 AM
04/19/13 11:17 AM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 736
Scott Hamlin Offline
500 Post Club Member
Scott Hamlin  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 736
Originally Posted by anotherscott
Originally Posted by Plinky88
Anywho.. any idea which one of these bozes
would work for this: MIDI Convertor Boxes - So many choices!!!

The Pedal Controller.


So the pedal goes into the TRS *1/4" input,
the MIDI out goes into the Privia. Does the
Privia go into MIDI IN?

Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: Scott Hamlin] #2067133
04/19/13 12:24 PM
04/19/13 12:24 PM
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,716
A
anotherscott Online content
4000 Post Club Member
anotherscott  Online Content
4000 Post Club Member
A

Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,716
Originally Posted by Plinky88
So the pedal goes into the TRS *1/4" input,
the MIDI out goes into the Privia. Does the
Privia go into MIDI IN?

Yes, though only for the purpose of supplying power to the box. (They also make a separate power adapter you can get, but usually you can tap power off the host keyboard that way.)

Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: CyberGene] #2067833
04/21/13 12:10 AM
04/21/13 12:10 AM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 736
Scott Hamlin Offline
500 Post Club Member
Scott Hamlin  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 736
So I went ahead and bit the bullet shocked
My Px5s should be here later this week.

It's funny how I have come full circle...
my VERY first keyboard (toy really)
was a Casio SK-1... the $99 "sampler" keyboard:


This is a bit of a step-up!

I will be using it in a wide variety
of applications: MIDI controller,
street "busking", practice when
late so acoustic doesn't bother the Mrs.,
as well as playing with all the synth.

Thanks Mike and everyone for their valuable input!

Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: CyberGene] #2068594
04/22/13 10:09 AM
04/22/13 10:09 AM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 736
Scott Hamlin Offline
500 Post Club Member
Scott Hamlin  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 736
If anyone is wanting one of these,
I would say: Giddy-Up.. they are
going fast. Many places are already
sold-out!

Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: CyberGene] #2069454
04/23/13 03:47 PM
04/23/13 03:47 PM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 736
Scott Hamlin Offline
500 Post Club Member
Scott Hamlin  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 736
Since I am returning to my Casio roots,
I just HAD to order one of these to
"complete the look"! blush

[Linked Image]

Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: Scott Hamlin] #2069536
04/23/13 06:00 PM
04/23/13 06:00 PM
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 765
P
PossumES8Krome61 Offline
500 Post Club Member
PossumES8Krome61  Offline
500 Post Club Member
P

Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 765
Originally Posted by Plinky88
Since I am returning to my Casio roots,
I just HAD to order one of these to
"complete the look"! blush

[Linked Image]



Just make sure when you get it the buttons are evenly spaced apart and at an even height! Make sure the alarm isn't muffled either!!


Roland Juno Gi
Casio PX-130
Korg Krome 61
Korg SP280
Kawai ES8
Rokit KRK 6 monitors
MXL V67G microphone
Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: CyberGene] #2069541
04/23/13 06:12 PM
04/23/13 06:12 PM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 14,346
Hamamatsu, Japan
Kawai James Online content
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Kawai James  Online Content
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 14,346
Hamamatsu, Japan
Wow, the memories!


Employed by Kawai Japan, however the opinions I express are my own.
Nord Electro 3 fan & occasional rare groove player.
Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: Kawai James] #2069562
04/23/13 07:22 PM
04/23/13 07:22 PM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 736
Scott Hamlin Offline
500 Post Club Member
Scott Hamlin  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 736
Originally Posted by Kawai James
Wow, the memories!


Really takes you back, right? I saw one on a
TV show and wondered "Do they still make those?"

Yup.. they do.. only $25... Casio how DO you do it? grin

Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: CyberGene] #2069566
04/23/13 07:34 PM
04/23/13 07:34 PM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 14,346
Hamamatsu, Japan
Kawai James Online content
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Kawai James  Online Content
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 14,346
Hamamatsu, Japan
I remember receiving one for my birthday as a child - I was the envy of everyone in my class. wink


Employed by Kawai Japan, however the opinions I express are my own.
Nord Electro 3 fan & occasional rare groove player.
Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: Kawai James] #2069567
04/23/13 07:36 PM
04/23/13 07:36 PM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 736
Scott Hamlin Offline
500 Post Club Member
Scott Hamlin  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 736
Originally Posted by Kawai James
I remember receiving one for my birthday as a child - I was the envy of everyone in my class. wink


LOL - you must be around my age...it was cool
back then.. Now... N E R D! If my kid
wore one of these he would get picked on until
my the bully's throat was sore!

Last edited by Plinky88; 04/23/13 07:37 PM.
Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: Scott Hamlin] #2069688
04/23/13 11:20 PM
04/23/13 11:20 PM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,346
Sofia, Bulgaria
C
CyberGene Offline OP
2000 Post Club Member
CyberGene  Offline OP
2000 Post Club Member
C

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,346
Sofia, Bulgaria
Originally Posted by Plinky88
I saw one on a
TV show


Breaking Bad? smile I also had one of those as a kid! It was soooooooo cool! I am still tempted by the idea laugh

Last edited by CyberGene; 04/23/13 11:20 PM.

Soundcloud Profile - solo piano compositions, arrangements, reharms
Currently: Kawai ES7 -> Garritan CFX
Previously: Kawai MP6, Kawai CA63, Roland RD-700SX, Roland FP-5, Yamaha P90, Korg SP-200, Casio CDP-100
Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: CyberGene] #2069807
04/24/13 07:19 AM
04/24/13 07:19 AM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 736
Scott Hamlin Offline
500 Post Club Member
Scott Hamlin  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 736
Originally Posted by CyberGene
Originally Posted by Plinky88
I saw one on a
TV show


Breaking Bad? smile I also had one of those as a kid! It was soooooooo cool! I am still tempted by the idea laugh


It was "The Office" when Jim imitated Dwight.




I watch Breaking Bad but didn't remember until
you mentioned it.. yup William White has
a Databank too!

For $25 it's good for a laugh..,,

Last edited by Plinky88; 04/24/13 12:42 PM.
Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: Mike_Martin] #2070177
04/24/13 06:03 PM
04/24/13 06:03 PM
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
I
icarusi Offline
Junior Member
icarusi  Offline
Junior Member
I

Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Originally Posted by Mike_Martin
Paul,
I don't know yet. I'm trying to find out from other Casio staff. My best guess would be June
One of the local stockists checked the distributer who said they weren't sure if they would bring to the UK 'at all'! Other online co's have an item but no price or availability just 'coming soon'.

Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: Scott Hamlin] #2070181
04/24/13 06:13 PM
04/24/13 06:13 PM
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
I
icarusi Offline
Junior Member
icarusi  Offline
Junior Member
I

Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Originally Posted by Plinky88
Since I am returning to my Casio roots,
I just HAD to order one of these to
"complete the look"!

I've still got one of these:- [Linked Image]


Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: CyberGene] #2070183
04/24/13 06:19 PM
04/24/13 06:19 PM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 14,346
Hamamatsu, Japan
Kawai James Online content
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Kawai James  Online Content
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 14,346
Hamamatsu, Japan
^ That's beautiful!


Employed by Kawai Japan, however the opinions I express are my own.
Nord Electro 3 fan & occasional rare groove player.
Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: CyberGene] #2070212
04/24/13 07:22 PM
04/24/13 07:22 PM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 452
Between Chicago and NJ, USA
Mike_Martin Offline
Full Member
Mike_Martin  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 452
Between Chicago and NJ, USA
One of the few "lefty" keyboards with controls on the right.


-Mike Martin
Casio America

Casio Music Forums
Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: CyberGene] #2070490
04/25/13 07:23 AM
04/25/13 07:23 AM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 736
Scott Hamlin Offline
500 Post Club Member
Scott Hamlin  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 736
And now we play "The Waiting Game"....
should be here by 5pm!

Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: CyberGene] #2075428
05/01/13 11:41 PM
05/01/13 11:41 PM
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 61
Auckland, New Zealand
M
marknz Offline
Full Member
marknz  Offline
Full Member
M

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 61
Auckland, New Zealand
Just got the PX5 S in store yesterday here in New Zealand. After all the hype I couldn't wait to give it a go. I'm a believer. The Pianos are slightly better to my ears than the PX350 piano sounds which a very good, but the EPs are way better than anything I've ever heard from Casio before. Similarly the Synth and guitar sounds are way better than the standard casio range of sounds and I would say are now competitive to any other top brand on the market.
To fully understand what the PX5 S can do will take a bit of learning but I am very impressed.


Roland RD700NX, Korg SV1 88.

Thank God for the gift of Music
Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: CyberGene] #2075468
05/02/13 12:29 AM
05/02/13 12:29 AM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 452
Between Chicago and NJ, USA
Mike_Martin Offline
Full Member
Mike_Martin  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 452
Between Chicago and NJ, USA
Marknz,
Thanks for giving the PX-5S a try. thumb

We're getting ready for a firmware update which I think should be out in about a week. Along with that we'll be releasing a lot of new sounds including new acoustic pianos, electric pianos, synths and more.

We're getting some great new EP sounds out of it that are far different from what you played already, which just shows how flexible the engine in the PX-5S really is. Here is a quick example:

https://soundcloud.com/casiomusicgear/new-roadz-phased

We're posting new audio demos almost daily.

Again thanks for giving it a listen.


-Mike Martin
Casio America

Casio Music Forums
Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: CyberGene] #2075492
05/02/13 12:45 AM
05/02/13 12:45 AM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 14,346
Hamamatsu, Japan
Kawai James Online content
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Kawai James  Online Content
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 14,346
Hamamatsu, Japan
Mike, by 'new sounds', are you saying that the PX-5X is able to load new wave data/samples, or do you actually mean new presets - i.e. the same wave data/samples, but utilised in different ways?

Cheers,
James
x


Employed by Kawai Japan, however the opinions I express are my own.
Nord Electro 3 fan & occasional rare groove player.
Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: Kawai James] #2075623
05/02/13 03:14 AM
05/02/13 03:14 AM
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,406
The Netherlands
J
JFP Offline
1000 Post Club Member
JFP  Offline
1000 Post Club Member
J

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,406
The Netherlands
Originally Posted by Kawai James
Mike, by 'new sounds', are you saying that the PX-5X is able to load new wave data/samples, or do you actually mean new presets - i.e. the same wave data/samples, but utilised in different ways?

Cheers,
James
x


Interesting question; I think the latter...

Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: CyberGene] #2075713
05/02/13 07:51 AM
05/02/13 07:51 AM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 452
Between Chicago and NJ, USA
Mike_Martin Offline
Full Member
Mike_Martin  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 452
Between Chicago and NJ, USA
No you can not load new samples in the PX-5S. But the PX-5S is a synthesizer and you can seriously modify and manipulate the sounds to create new custom ones. FWIW - We have added new samples in the upcoming firmware update. smile


-Mike Martin
Casio America

Casio Music Forums
Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: Mike_Martin] #2075736
05/02/13 08:33 AM
05/02/13 08:33 AM
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,716
A
anotherscott Online content
4000 Post Club Member
anotherscott  Online Content
4000 Post Club Member
A

Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,716
Originally Posted by Mike_Martin
No you can not load new samples in the PX-5S. But the PX-5S is a synthesizer and you can seriously modify and manipulate the sounds to create new custom ones. FWIW - We have added new samples in the upcoming firmware update. smile

Interesting. So even though the user cannot load new samples into the PX-5S, new samples can be loaded in via manufacturer supplied firmware update? That's pretty significant.

Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: CyberGene] #2075740
05/02/13 08:39 AM
05/02/13 08:39 AM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 14,346
Hamamatsu, Japan
Kawai James Online content
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Kawai James  Online Content
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 14,346
Hamamatsu, Japan
Interesting indeed. May I ask you to clarify this point please, Mike?

I wonder how large the samples stored in the firmware can be, and if all of the samples themselves can be replaced (i.e. ram, not rom).

Cheers,
James
x


Employed by Kawai Japan, however the opinions I express are my own.
Nord Electro 3 fan & occasional rare groove player.
Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: Mike_Martin] #2075741
05/02/13 08:40 AM
05/02/13 08:40 AM
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,406
The Netherlands
J
JFP Offline
1000 Post Club Member
JFP  Offline
1000 Post Club Member
J

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,406
The Netherlands
Originally Posted by Mike_Martin
No you can not load new samples in the PX-5S. But the PX-5S is a synthesizer and you can seriously modify and manipulate the sounds to create new custom ones. FWIW - We have added new samples in the upcoming firmware update. smile


Meaning you (as a user) cannot add new samples to the PX5 , but Casio as the developer can indeed add / exchange the underlying sample data. Interesting ! Could that possibly mean that when Casio records a new AP sample set in the future (for a new Privia series) , the current AP sample base could be exchanged by the new version as well ? I mean in theory , cause marketing probably won't allow that to happen, since it will eat away sales of the next generation of Privia series.

I understood the sample-set on the Numa Piano series can be exchanged in the same way by updated versions with a firmware update. That's what they may do for the little Numa Piano they said - adding some of the higher end Numa Concert sound-base.

If Casio goes along the same path the investment in a Privia seems even more worthwhile , since you can update the base sound set when better material is available. To what extend this will happen is of course unclear - upcoming Privia series with enhanced sounds have to be sold as well...Very curious about the upcoming update !


Re: I have a Casio PX-5S GAS [Re: CyberGene] #2075742
05/02/13 08:41 AM
05/02/13 08:41 AM
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 452
Between Chicago and NJ, USA
Mike_Martin Offline
Full Member
Mike_Martin  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 452
Between Chicago and NJ, USA
Guys,
Do not read more into this than there is. We're supplementing the existing ROM with some more content in this firmware update. I would not expect more samples to be added.


-Mike Martin
Casio America

Casio Music Forums
Page 7 of 12 1 2 5 6 7 8 9 11 12

Moderated by  Piano World 

(ad)
Sweetwater - Keyboards
Sweetwater
New Topics - Multiple Forums
Of speakers and watts
by mydp. 11/13/18 05:35 PM
altered chords and chord progressions
by Jitin. 11/13/18 12:26 PM
Ornette Coleman's "Lonely Woman"
by KenBakerMN. 11/13/18 08:54 AM
Crackling noise when recording digital piano
by Tommm777. 11/13/18 01:01 AM
(ad)
Pianoteq
PianoTeq Petrof
Forum Statistics
Forums40
Topics188,318
Posts2,760,813
Members91,484
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
(ad)
Accu-Tuner
Sanderson Accu-Tuner
Please Support Our Advertisers
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver

Sweetwater

PianoTeq Petrof
Piano Buyer Spring 2018
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers


 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter |


copyright 1997 - 2018 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.2