2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
68 members (anotherscott, Bellyman, Carey, brennbaer, busa, Barly, 1957, 13 invisible), 2,003 guests, and 322 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Unobtanium Supporter until Jun 020 2020
3000 Post Club Member
OP Offline

3000 Post Club Member
I wonder about this because my course of study with my teacher -- who is great -- is neither very structured nor formally progressive.

At the outset, let me observe that I'm a 60-year old adult beginner on piano. I have no plans or goals of ever playing professionally, but I would like to learn as much as I can as fast as I can, and I work at the piano diligently. I find that the rewards of each two steps forward vastly outweigh the frustrations of the occasional step back. (It helps a little that I have previously mastered another instrument, though the technical skills aren't in the least transferable.)

When I first started on one-hour weekly lessons about a year and a half ago, we began in the Alfred's Adult method, but we got away from that within a couple of weeks and haven't looked back. Since then we have used no method book at all.

Instead, we have worked on a "course" consisting of a series of solo piano pieces (some suggested by my teacher, most by me) that began with relatively short and easy works and has gradually grown to include longer and more difficult compositions. Thrown in along the way were a few Czerny etudes cherry-picked from Opus 599, scale practice, and not enough theory to do any lasting harm.