2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
34 members (Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, Charles Cohen, AlkansBookcase, brennbaer, admodios, 9 invisible), 1,220 guests, and 341 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 4 1 2 3 4
T
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
T
For what it's worth, walking 10ths in the left hand are pretty common in the jazz world. I can't play some without rolling, but not all.

M
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
M
I am a beginner at 64. I can do an octave and I think I am too old to stretch without breaking something. But as a beginner, I don't know what a roll is. What is rolling when you refer to an octave reach?

Platinum Supporter until November 30 2022
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member

Platinum Supporter until November 30 2022
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Originally Posted by Michael_99
I am a beginner at 64. I can do an octave and I think I am too old to stretch without breaking something. But as a beginner, I don't know what a roll is. What is rolling when you refer to an octave reach?

Michael -

A roll is when you quickly play the notes of the chord from the bottom up - without actually striking all the notes at the same time. Many folks use this approach when playing intervals larger than an octave.

Mason and Hamlin BB - 91640
Kawai K-500 Upright
Kawai CA-65 Digital
Korg SP-100 Stage Piano
YouTube channel - http://www.youtube.com/user/pianophilo
6000 Post Club Member
6000 Post Club Member