2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
30 members (Animisha, brennbaer, Cominut, crab89, aphexdisklavier, fullerphoto, admodios, busa, drumour, Foxtrot3, 4 invisible), 1,182 guests, and 269 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#2061275 04/08/13 01:06 PM
T
Tides Offline OP
OP Offline
T
Hello all.

I have been playing piano for three or four years on and off. I have really only been making real effort in the last 6 months with practicing, studying, and listening. I have been making good progress with pieces but I feel like my technique and fingerwork is lacking. I feel like I have poor control and it is never a sure thing if a piece will come out absolutely correctly, even if it is well practiced and rehearsed.

I have never learned scales or done any kind of exercises. I was wondering if you all had any advice on what I should work on or work with to improve technique and fingerwork.

To give you a frame of reference, I am working on Chopin's Etude 10 3, The Raindrop etude, Clair de Lune, Beethoven's Pathetique (2nd movement), schubert-liszt's Serenade, and a couple more of Chopin's lighter works.

I would appreciate any insight. Thanks.

I should mention I do have a teacher and have not brought this up to here. I believe I did about a year ago, mentioning hanon exercises or something, and she replied that she never felt like I really needed them. I will talk to her again next lesson, I think she is a very talented lady, but I wanted some internet advice from fellow learners or masters.

Last edited by Tides; 04/08/13 01:41 PM.
A
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
A