2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
37 members (Charles Cohen, Animisha, benkeys, Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, brennbaer, 9 invisible), 1,137 guests, and 316 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#2058632 04/03/13 10:17 AM
M
magenta Offline OP
OP Offline
M
hello,

i am self taught and love learning more about theory. i came across a great song created by Gymnopedie No.1 - Erik Satie. just for learning, i was wondering what key this song is in? usually i just stick to certain key when writing a song on the piano. however, does this song move to a different key. if so, how do you figure out generally what other key to move to.

thank you in advance for your help.

W
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
W
Satie is probably doing something tricky, so maybe someone with real theory chops and/or a good ear will weigh in.

The key signature has F# and C#. In the usual major/minor scales, this means that the key is either D major or its relative minor, B minor. The bass clef starts by alternating the root notes G and D, and that's quite consistent with being in D major, but the tonalities are complex and I don't know if that's because the song is modal (but then why would the bass be hovering around D?) or simply because the chords are very colorful--the first measure is D, F#, G, B, which is something like a DM 11 13.