2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
66 members (Alex Hutor, AndyOnThePiano2, amc252, brennbaer, accordeur, antune, anotherscott, 9 invisible), 1,706 guests, and 311 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#2058483 04/02/13 11:46 PM
S
smithiu Offline OP
OP Offline
S
Hello,

I am looking to buy a used piano for my family. I'm a musician (cellist), but I'm not a pianist so I'm not sure what brand/type of piano would be the best for us. I want to learn to play properly, and I have a 1 year old son who would probably eventually be playing as well.

I would prefer to spend no more than $2000. From my research, it seems like a console piano is a good option. But there are so many brands out there! Are there any "best bets" for brands? I have been looking on Craigslist, where I've found a decent number of options. Are there other places I should be looking? (I live in central Connecticut.) Is $2000 a good budget to get a quality used piano that would last us for at least the next 10 years?

Any suggestions would be appreciated!!

Thanks,
Anna

3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
Bump up your budget a bit and buy a new Kawai K-2. It's a very good starter piano, a great warranty and no worries about where it's been. Really nice action and good tone for a 45" piano. I had one for 3 years, and kind of miss it at times.

Gary
E
6000 Post Club Member
6000 Post Club Member
E