2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
59 members (Animisha, Burkhard, aphexdisklavier, benkeys, 1200s, akse0435, AlkansBookcase, 13 invisible), 1,873 guests, and 261 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
R
OP Offline
R
I started learning to play the piano when I was 12. I had weekly lessons at school and I continued with these lessons up until Year 9 (Age 14).

I got pretty good. I had got to a good standard (not sure how to describe it). I could read sheet music and play songs, but I couldn't sight read.

I then took GCSE music but my piano teacher left so I was taught by the Music GCSE teacher. He was a really great guy, but he wasn't taught to play the piano, he just picked it up. He was good, better than me (but he didn't like to admit it). He gave me songs to learn and got me a performance or two in assemblies. He wanted to put me through the grades, but I wasn't too keen. I agreed in the end as I thought I may as well give it a go.

I hated it.

I didn't want to learn piddly little tunes and scales. I wanted to learn songs that I could perform and impress people. I could easily do grade one but as I didn't like it I didn't concentrate on it much. I eventually took the exam and got something like a merit and distinction (or merit and merit, I can't quite remember).

I didn't do grade 2.

After leaving school I pretty much stopped playing, which was a shame because I was given a piano for my birthday the year before.