Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.5 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
What's Hot!!
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums RULES & HELP
-------------------
ADVERTISE on Piano World
(ad)
Piano Tuning
How to Tune Pianos
(125ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad)
Piano Buyer Guide
Piano Buyer Spring 2017
(ad)
4th Finger Enigma Resolved!
Schumann's 4th Finger Enigma Resolved!
Who's Online Now
95 registered members (accordeur, ajames, amad23, Almaviva, Alex Hutor, 36251, 20 invisible), 1,946 guests, and 2 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers

Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Directory/Site Map
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords & Scales
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#2056567 - 03/29/13 10:54 PM Newer Casio Privias (x50 series) and Finale  
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 24
two2the8 Offline
Full Member
two2the8  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 24
Hi all,

Just wondering if anyone else has experienced problems connecting their newer Privia to Finale, and particularly if anyone has solved their problem and managed to connect the two somehow. I have a new 750 which I'm enjoying, but if I can't connect it to Finale for use as a midi controller, I may just have to take it back. (I *really* didn't anticipate this being a problem!)

I gather the issue might have something to do with 'High-res' midi being used in the Privia keyboards: http://forum.makemusic.com/default.aspx?f=6&m=388377

Thanks!

(ad) ROLAND

Click Here

#2056787 - 03/30/13 11:00 AM Re: Newer Casio Privias (x50 series) and Finale [Re: two2the8]  
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 452
Mike_Martin Offline
Full Member
Mike_Martin  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 452
Between Chicago and NJ, USA
The issue is Finale, their software for some reason is ignoring the note on information when accompanied with the extra info for high-resolution velocity. They are aware of the issue and are working on a fix.


-Mike Martin
Casio America

Casio Music Forums
#2056819 - 03/30/13 11:36 AM Re: Newer Casio Privias (x50 series) and Finale [Re: two2the8]  
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 24
two2the8 Offline
Full Member
two2the8  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 24
Thanks Mike, that's helpful. I wish I knew when said fix would be available, and whether it'll be rolled out in updates to existing software or included in new versions only, though I imagine nobody really knows yet. If my current version is to remain broken, I'll either have to find some way to downsample the midi signal from the casio to 'standard res' or look for another kb. It's a drag b/c the kb works fine with my other software.

#2056831 - 03/30/13 12:11 PM Re: Newer Casio Privias (x50 series) and Finale [Re: two2the8]  
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 24
two2the8 Offline
Full Member
two2the8  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 24
Hey Mike, can you by any chance tell me whether all the newer Privias (x50s) feature high-res midi? The 850 has just come available locally, maybe I could trade up. (Kind of a long shot, but worth a try!)

(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
#2057055 - 03/30/13 07:44 PM Re: Newer Casio Privias (x50 series) and Finale [Re: two2the8]  
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 867
galaxy4t Offline
500 Post Club Member
galaxy4t  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 867
Lakewood, CA
Yes all the PX-X50 series Privias support the high res midi specification.

#2057100 - 03/30/13 09:30 PM Re: Newer Casio Privias (x50 series) and Finale [Re: two2the8]  
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 24
two2the8 Offline
Full Member
two2the8  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 24
Drat. Thanks!

#2057241 - 03/31/13 08:05 AM Re: Newer Casio Privias (x50 series) and Finale [Re: two2the8]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 100
willf Offline
Full Member
willf  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 100
UK
If you do not need the speakers the new Privia PX-5S (according to the manual) allows you to turn high resolution velocity off.

But thanks for pointing out the problems with Finale and high resolution.


willf
#2057357 - 03/31/13 12:56 PM Re: Newer Casio Privias (x50 series) and Finale [Re: two2the8]  
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 24
two2the8 Offline
Full Member
two2the8  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 24
Wow, I wish that was possible on the 750!

#2057366 - 03/31/13 01:25 PM Re: Newer Casio Privias (x50 series) and Finale [Re: willf]  
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 424
Temperament Offline
Full Member
Temperament  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 424
Hun,EU

Originally Posted by willf
If you do not need the speakers the new Privia PX-5S (according to the manual) allows you to turn high resolution velocity off.

Is it possible with AP450/AP650 too ?

#2057834 - 04/01/13 03:01 PM Re: Newer Casio Privias (x50 series) and Finale [Re: two2the8]  
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 24
two2the8 Offline
Full Member
two2the8  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 24
An update, of sorts: I thought maybe I could route the midi signal in through Logic, send it out from there to the Mac's IAC bus and then use that as an input on Finale, as a way to 'strip out' extra high-res velocity info.

It kind of works, but it seems to be so resource intensive that I can only get one note to sound before Logic hangs. Still, that one note does print in finale's Hyperscribe, so something like this seems theoretically possible.

Perhaps my version of Logic (Express 9) doesn't really support 'high-resolution' values either, or maybe I'm doing something wrong - either way I'm not much further ahead frown

Hopefully Finale will get back to me about the status of this issue sometime this week.

Last edited by two2the8; 04/01/13 03:01 PM.
#2058259 - 04/02/13 11:12 AM Re: Newer Casio Privias (x50 series) and Finale [Re: two2the8]  
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 452
Mike_Martin Offline
Full Member
Mike_Martin  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 452
Between Chicago and NJ, USA
I spoke to the people at Finale yesterday. They're working on it.


-Mike Martin
Casio America

Casio Music Forums
#2058287 - 04/02/13 12:25 PM Re: Newer Casio Privias (x50 series) and Finale [Re: two2the8]  
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 24
two2the8 Offline
Full Member
two2the8  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 24
Cool, thanks Mike! That's encouraging.

I emailed with some folks at customer service this week myself, and the representative I corresponded with said any fix will likely roll out with the new version of Finale due this summer. He suggested that this issue will not likely be fixed for older versions (no surprise there).

I think I can probably wait 'til the summer to see what kind of fix might emerge. Fingers crossed!


Moderated by  Piano World 

Piano Acc. & Gift Items in
Piano World's Online Store
In PianoSupplies.com ,(a division of Piano World)
our online store for piano and music gifts and accessories, Digital Piano Dolly, party goods, tuning equipment, piano moving equipment, benches, lamps Caster Cups and more.


Free Shipping* on Jansen Artist Piano Benches, Cocoweb Piano Lamps, Hidrau Hydraulic Piano Benches
(*free shipping within contiguous U.S. only)
(ad)
Pearl River & Ritmuller
Ritmuller Pianos
(ad)
Pianoteq
PianoTeq 6 Out now
(ad)
Lindeblad Piano
Lindeblad Piano Restorations and sales
ad
Pierce Piano Atlas


New Topics - Multiple Forums
Kawai CA-67 oder Yamaha CLP-645?
by TobyK. 10/20/17 11:08 AM
Learn hands separate or together?
by hyena. 10/20/17 08:30 AM
Grand piano action bedding
by UnderConstruction. 10/20/17 08:17 AM
Does anyone here need/want a piano pal?
by MuddyFox. 10/20/17 06:47 AM
Kawai announces NOVUS NV10 hybrid digital piano
by Kawai James. 10/20/17 06:38 AM
Forum Statistics
Forums44
Topics182,390
Posts2,665,863
Members89,007
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
(ad)
Accu-Tuner
Sanderson Accu-Tuner
Check It Out!
There's a lot more to Piano World than just the forums.
Click Here to
Explore The Rest of Piano World!!
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers


 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter |


copyright 1997 - 2017 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0