2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
65 members (brennbaer, accordeur, antune, Colin Miles, anotherscott, AndyOnThePiano2, benkeys, 11 invisible), 1,824 guests, and 311 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
P
OP Offline
P
I just started playing and I am really excited to progress but I know that sometimes, too much doesn't do you any good. What are some telling signs that you should take a break from your practice? And also, when is it a good time to practice?

Last edited by pianotimo; 03/27/13 06:57 PM.
At the very beginning you may want to limit overall time each day. Once you get past the absolute beginner stage you can practice as long as you feel comfortable doing so. But be aware there is a distinction between overall time spent per day, and time spent on a given task per day. In other words, if you are practicing 6 tasks at 15 minutes each, that is fine. If you practice 1 task for 1.5 hours, that is probably too much.

At first watch out for any physical fatigue or discomfort. If that happens, stop. Also watch to see if you are making too many mistakes or getting frustrated, stop.

E
4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member
E
Practice and playing are too different things so you could be at the piano all day and not achieve significant practice time. A few thoughts

Practice small frequent durations (especially if practicing sight reading)
Wait until your mind is clear and free of distractions -don't practice tired
Don't play a whole song to get to the hard bit - just practice the hard bit
Schedule practice beforehand to include things like scales, appegios, sight reading etc