2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
72 members (AndyOnThePiano2, APianistHasNoName, AlkansBookcase, Charles Cohen, BillS728, Colin Miles, 36251, 13 invisible), 2,157 guests, and 343 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
OP Offline
Hi gang,

I just started practicing the Bach's WTC book one Prelude and Fugue in C-minor.

I've listened to a number of performances in preparation for this, but I still can't get a handle on how to approach the phrasing in the very homogeneous texture of the prelude in order to give it some movement and structure.

I, of course, bring out the first note on the first and third beats of each measure, and I've attempted an analysis of the harmony (pretty shifty and complex, actually), but I can't come up with a convincing way of interpreting the first two thirds before the arpeggiated and presto sections.

Any thoughts?

Last edited by Brad Hoehne; 03/18/13 11:55 AM.

1999 Petrof 125-111 (upright)
Casio Privia PX-330

Currently working on:
Chopin Etude op 25 #2 and op 10 #5
Schubert Op 90 #2, #3
Playing by ear and "filling out" pop tunes
F
FSO Offline
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
F