2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
69 members (Cominut, 36251, Bruce Sato, Carey, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, bcalvanese, brdwyguy, 12 invisible), 2,049 guests, and 313 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
J
OP Offline
J
I was wondering about this for a while.
For example, take 2 grand pianos and then put them in the same room and go through the same use.
Over time, can the sound of one piano age and distort faster than the other? Do some pianos have sound that last longer than others before distorting?

Thanks!

G
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
G
im not an expert.. but I recall speaking to a piano rebuilder here in Los Angeles.. he was saying how a lot of the Korean and lower tier Chinese pianos would sound dull and muddy quicker than say a Steinway or quality Japanese piano.. he was also saying some pianos that were rebuilt using certain strings tended to also go in aforementioned direction..

1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
Originally Posted by Jason Zhao
For example, take 2 grand pianos and then put them in the same room and go through the same use.
Over time, can the sound of one piano age and distort faster than the other? Do some pianos have sound that last longer than others before distorting?

Yes they can. wink
In my experience, there can be a different deterioration of action. As I said on another thread, when I was at University, there were an old Sauter and a new Schimmel in the same practise room (upright pianos), and after a few weeks, the Schimmel felt really used, while the Sauter kept its good action.