2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
66 members (Alex Hutor, AndyOnThePiano2, amc252, brennbaer, accordeur, antune, anotherscott, 9 invisible), 1,706 guests, and 311 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
T
OP Offline
T
Hi all,

My previous instructor did not stress the importance of hand shape and body posture while playing the piano. I actually asked and he said my fingers and body is fine. I am a rank beginner hence i suspect there must be something wrong with how i play. It's quite impossible to think that i got the correct shape with no training before. He's no longer teaching me now and i'm without a teacher for many months and no peers to discuss things with..

So, I'm wondering if i can get some feedback on the shape of hand and body posture through a video here. If possible what kind of camera angle is the best to see the correct shape as video is 2D and generally harder to see. i'm thinking the camera should be level with the keys, but i might be wrong. Can anyone help?

Thank you

-TY-
Learning since: Sept 2012
Playing..
Canon in D, Pachebel
Marriage D Amour, Richard Clayderman

Learning..
Clair de lunes, Debussy
D
5000 Post Club Member
5000 Post Club Member
D
You really need to see it from the top and the side. If you can post both of the same recording, great. If not, a 2:00 shot looking slightly over your right shoulder would probably be best. (As if I was sitting next to you at the keys.)

EDIT: 2:00 meaning "2 o'clock" not "2 minutes" wink

Last edited by Derulux; 03/18/13 03:38 PM.