2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
69 members (Alex Hutor, AndyOnThePiano2, amc252, brennbaer, accordeur, antune, anotherscott, benkeys, 10 invisible), 1,726 guests, and 306 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
M
OP Offline
M
Some background: I am an adult beginner and my children have been playing for about four years. I have a 2-year-old Yamaha U1. I used Larry Fine's Piano Buyer book and ratings, price, and local availability to narrow my choices to Kawai (GE or RX1/2), Yamaha (GC, C1, or C2), Boston, Hailun (HG161 or HG178), and Perzina. I expect this purchase to be my last. So far we have been able to try out only Kawai, Yamaha, and Boston.

A few questions:

1. A "piano expert" told me that unless my new grand is at least 6', it won't sound any better than my U1. Thoughts?

2. I have found that the Bostons are priced much higher than the Kawais. Are they worth it? While many posters prefer the Kawai action, the Boston gets (higher?) praise for sound. The Boston design elements and materials might be an upgrade over the Kawai. They both sound “good" to me, but it's hard to compare when they're not in the same store. Also, due to price, I might end up with a smaller Boston than Kawai.

3. There are many posts here praising Hailun. Am I reading, "this is an excellent piano" or "this is an excellent piano for its price". If I can afford the Japanese grands, should I forget about the Chinese-made brands or do they sound better than Yamaha/Kawai/Boston?