2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
61 members (anotherscott, Bellyman, brennbaer, busa, Barly, 1957, btcomm, 11 invisible), 2,007 guests, and 345 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 172 of 452 1 2 170 171 172 173 174 451 452
Hello all,

This forum is exactly what I was looking for ! I dont know anyone else who plays piano or who is learning so this is great.

I have no musical theory knowledge at all and can only read Tab for guitar. I started with the Alfred series Book 1 a week ago and im up to page 52.

Can anyone help me with something though ? There is an exercise on page 41 about writing in 3/4 time.

I dont understand part 3 of the exercise where it says you need to write one note equal in value to the sum of the two notes above it. seems simple enough but I dont get it. If there are 3 beats to the bar how can a dotted half note plus a quarter note add up to anything ? isnt the dotted half note all you need ?

confused !! frown but happy to be here smile

Yamaha P90
D
D
Welcome to the AIO Book 1 forum SmokestackLightnin.

If you follow the logic of the first example it makes sense.

The first example shows 2 quarter notes. Add them together and you get a half note as shown. I'll give you the next one - a dotted half note is equivalent to 3 quarter notes so add that to the quarter note below it and you get a whole note. You're on your own for the rest but you should see what they want now.

Doug

I have a great memory, it's just short.

[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
ah..the slow dawn of realisation...oh how I love thee lol

thank for you for replying so quickly.