2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
64 members (Bellyman, brennbaer, busa, Barly, 1957, btcomm, Animisha, 14 invisible), 2,018 guests, and 347 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
V
OP Offline
V
Hello dear forum people!
I have just joined the forum to seek help, and I'm in despair.

I'll give you a little background history about my situation. I started playing the piano at the age of 8, with a teacher and all of that but never had the passion in me to play the piano except when the teacher was teaching me. Never did my homework, always never practiced but kept at it because i listened to my parents telling me that I will be grateful in my later years. At the age of 16 I really started appreciating the piano and began playing nonstop at home and at school. Some Debussy and Chopin, sometimes a bit of Schumann and Beethoven. I was in ecstasy! I finally found the greatness of this instrument, I finally felt the excitement!

But then at the age of 19 I was called to do my service in the IDF (Israeli Defense Forces) for 3 years. I was enlisted as a soldier at the anti-tank unit. For 3 years I barely saw home. I was allowed a 4 days vacation every 17 days I was at my base. My routine was rough, barely any sleep, ate badly, no time for reading, no time for playing, no nothing. And every-time I was home I never could put myself to playing since I was so depressed and down that all I could do is try and get the most out of my vacation time and go out and party and meet my friends, to appease my lack of freedom.