2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
25 members (drumour, Hakki, crab89, EVC2017, clothearednincompo, APianistHasNoName, JohnCW, Kawai James, 8 invisible), 1,251 guests, and 286 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
F
OP Offline
F
I have a client with a 52" Kimball they want to restore. The size of the standard (Pratt Win) replacement hammer butts from Schaff or Pianotek don't match the originals. The butt heights are comparable, but when matching up the action centers, the depth of the replacement puts the radius of the hammer butt buckskin (and catcher buckskin) ~3 mm closer to the player. If I were to replace whippens, I have a similar "mismatch" with the standard Pratt Winn part for dowel captstans - the profile is similar, but the replacement jack height is 2+mm higher (when matching up the action centers whippens and jacks).

These seem like big differences to accommodate - I can envision lowering the dowel to handle the higher jack, but this would really angle the whippen, affecting damper spoon and also backcheck. And I wonder about the new postion of that buckskin radius - seems like the jack wont have a proper seat under the butt at rest. Should I be looking for replacement parts with a closer match to the originals? Any suggestions on my options? Am I stuck with rebuilding the original parts?

Btw, I don't have the Schwander action parts on hand, but the pictures in the catalogues don't appear to match profiles (these are for shorter Kimballs, right?).

Fred Hamaker, RPT
Tuning, Performance Prep
Assessments, Rebuilding and Regulation
www.RochesterPianoService.com