2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
70 members (Carey, Bellyman, AlkansBookcase, accordeur, akse0435, Barry_Braksick, BadSanta, danbot3, 13 invisible), 1,830 guests, and 303 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Z
OP Offline
Z
Im applying to college with a music technology major and their is a performance audition that I have to do on piano. I am self taught, and haven't learned any classical songs untill now so I really need some feedback. I have been working on invention 13 by bach and nocturne op 9 no 2 by chopin for a little longer than a week now on my new privia px150(which is amazing). Here is my progress.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RZfG0y7EyPk&feature=youtu.be

obviously near the end of where i was playing op 9 no 2 I hadn't learned it well enough yet, but other than that.

Am I in the right direction?

Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
I think you're very well in the right direction on the Bach, but not on the Chopin. BTW what I'm saying about the Chopin has nothing to do with your not having finished learning it -- I didn't listen that far. I think it's just not a good piece for you to play, but I think the Bach is quite impressive for what you're going for.

6000 Post Club Member
6000 Post Club Member
Some quick thoughts:

1. Check with the college you're applying to see what level of piano proficiency they require. It could be that your choice of pieces are too easy, or two hard.

2. When you post a classical piece, or any piece actually post the whole piece. It makes an awful impression to be playing 30 secs of Bach and 90 secs of Chopin.