2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
63 members (AlkansBookcase, Barry_Braksick, danno858, BadSanta, danbot3, Animisha, Burkhard, 14 invisible), 1,836 guests, and 283 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
S
OP Offline
S
After five years of banging away on the piano I'm still a beginner. But I enjoy my struggles with the piano, and so will continue (thank goodness for headphones!)

I have a Yamaha YDP-223. It's okay, but recently I've been dreaming of something better: something with a real or close to real acoustic keyboard, and better sound. I tried routing the sound of my YDP-223 through the PianoTeq Stage software, and the added reverb made a pleasant difference. That doesn't do anything for the action, of course.

So I went to my local dealer and drooled for awhile over the AvantGrands. The N1, N2, and N3 are all exceptional, IMHO. But the prices: 7k, 11k, and 15k respectively (USD) are far beyond what I could afford (or even justify spending on a hobby.)

So now I'm looking at the Kawai CA series (65 and 95) and possibly the CN34. Has anyone compared the CA95 to the AvantGrand N2? (Or the CA65 to the N1?) From what I've been able to gather (not having visited a Kawai dealer yet) I'm guessing the CA95 is around 4k. That's a price I might be able to afford and justify. The CA series appears to have enough bells and whistles along with a realistic touch and great sounds to motivate me to practice myself out of the beginner level someday.