2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
69 members (Alex Hutor, AndyOnThePiano2, amc252, brennbaer, accordeur, antune, anotherscott, benkeys, 10 invisible), 1,726 guests, and 306 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#2019959 01/23/13 11:11 PM
M
Mark VC Offline OP
OP Offline
M
Again, I'm very new to this and learning. Thanks for the helpful answers that folks have already supplied; here's another beginner question:

I'm attempting to use my yamaha p-105b with Mainstage, and I've also tried it with Garageband, (the 'grand piano' in both) and there are two issues:

- Both programs seem to have only two levels of key attack - either you're hitting the keys soft, or you're hitting them hard. If soft, you get this nice mellow piano tone, but if hard you get this far more strident tone like you're using a sledgehammer. I do not have to hit the keys hard at ALL on the p105b to get the sledgehammer, so, in playing, every third note or so has a completely different timbre than the others - meaning it's not that much louder, just sounds completely different. Annoying.