Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.5 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
What's Hot!!
Hurricane Irma & Our Piano Friends!
--------------------
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums RULES & HELP
-------------------
ADVERTISE on Piano World
(ad)
Virtual Sheet Music
Download Sheet Music Instantly
Virtual Sheet Music - Classical Sheet Music Downloads
Sheet Music...
(125ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad)
Piano Buyer Guide
Piano Buyer Spring 2017
(ad)
4th Finger Enigma Resolved!
Schumann's 4th Finger Enigma Resolved!
Who's Online Now
79 registered members (Bernhard Stopper, AndyP, bennevis, Agent88, anamnesis, alphonsus, 21 invisible), 1,703 guests, and 3 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers

Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Directory/Site Map
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords & Scales
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
#2017703 - 01/20/13 09:12 AM Re: Vintage D - general [Re: EO3]  
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 142
EO3 Offline
Full Member
EO3  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 142
So, now I got even Vintage D started in Kontakt in Ableton, and that's OK, but when I try to record, it doesn't record it seems. Maybe also there are any turtorials about how to record from MIDI?

I understand this has overflooded this topic, but at least the next time when someone wants to set up Vintage D, they will have easier road with this discussion I hope. smile

Last edited by EO3; 01/20/13 09:12 AM.
(ad) ROLAND

Click Here

#2017919 - 01/20/13 05:06 PM Re: Vintage D - general [Re: EO3]  
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 351
Gigantoad Offline
Full Member
Gigantoad  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 351
All you need to do now is arm the track (at the bottom of the track below the "S" button"), create a clip on the track (right click one of the empty slots and choose insert midi clip) and then hit record at the top.

Or search on YouTube for videos explaining all this stuff. It's full of it. Or, god forbid, read the manual smile

#2018355 - 01/21/13 12:56 PM Re: Vintage D - general [Re: EO3]  
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 142
EO3 Offline
Full Member
EO3  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 142
I tend to avoid manuals for as long as possible. smile

But - when I open kontakt I can only get kontakt to "record" sort of. Yes, I add MIDI track also, but nothing happening there. I tried to play with arming the tracks, etc. , but no luck.

When I "record" from kontakt track, I get sort of red "something" that could be the recording probably, but when I play back, no sound. I guess probably I haven't set up something correctly, as Ableton is tricky in this field.

#2019477 - 01/23/13 07:51 AM Re: Vintage D - general [Re: EO3]  
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 979
36251 Offline
500 Post Club Member
36251  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 979
New question for Vintage D owners. I'll be gigging, like last night using Vintage D and once in a while a note, that I didn't play will sound out at full velocity. It doesn't happen enough to stop using it, but am curious if anyone else ever experienced this?


AG N2 | CP4 | SSv3 | GK MK & MP
(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
#2019658 - 01/23/13 02:15 PM Re: Vintage D - general [Re: EO3]  
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,510
gvfarns Offline
3000 Post Club Member
gvfarns  Offline
3000 Post Club Member

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,510
Texas
Never happened to me Sounds like a MIDI/connection problem.

#2019669 - 01/23/13 02:41 PM Re: Vintage D - general [Re: gvfarns]  
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 979
36251 Offline
500 Post Club Member
36251  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 979
Originally Posted by gvfarns
Never happened to me Sounds like a MIDI/connection problem.
I connect using USB to Roland FP4. I have drivers installed and this is a rare occurrence, although when it's a note not in key I'm in, I get some dirty looks smile

I guess I could spend some money to get midi to USB but would that really make a big difference?


AG N2 | CP4 | SSv3 | GK MK & MP
#2021086 - 01/25/13 12:58 PM Re: Vintage D - general [Re: EO3]  
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 142
EO3 Offline
Full Member
EO3  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 142
Now I'm able to play MIDI files in Ableton via Kontakt and Vintage D. It also seems that I'm able to record that all as .WAV file, so that's sorted. However, I still can't record directly it seems. But, I'll put some more thought into that.

One question - from your experiences, do you think it's a safe way to first record playing keyboard with inbuilt sounds and then transfering that MIDI to Ableton/Vintage D and recording final sound with that? I mean, does it transpone in a right way, because obviously there are some dynamic differences between inbuilt sounds/correspondance between keys and how Vintage D sees that... There seems to be many variations how to do the final recording and how to get to that point.

Another question about Vintage D sound - have you noticed that bi flat (si bemol) note in the second octave sounds noticabely quieter than any other notes in Vintage D?

#2021087 - 01/25/13 01:02 PM Re: Vintage D - general [Re: EO3]  
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 77
Kos Offline
Full Member
Kos  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 77
Originally Posted by EO3

Another question about Vintage D sound - have you noticed that bi flat (si bemol) note in the second octave sounds noticabely quieter than any other notes in Vintage D?

Yep, it does. I thought I was the only one to notice it smile


"There is nothing to piano playing besides producing the appropriate velocities on the appropriate keys at the appropriate time" (c) qvfarns
#2021095 - 01/25/13 01:14 PM Re: Vintage D - general [Re: EO3]  
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 351
Gigantoad Offline
Full Member
Gigantoad  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 351
Originally Posted by EO3

One question - from your experiences, do you think it's a safe way to first record playing keyboard with inbuilt sounds and then transfering that MIDI to Ableton/Vintage D and recording final sound with that? I mean, does it transpone in a right way, because obviously there are some dynamic differences between inbuilt sounds/correspondance between keys and how Vintage D sees that... There seems to be many variations how to do the final recording and how to get to that point.


There's really just one right way: record midi from keyboard playing Vintage D in real time. If you want to save that all into an audio file, just use export audio in the file menu.

Anything else doesn't make any sense at all.

#2021140 - 01/25/13 02:58 PM Re: Vintage D - general [Re: Gigantoad]  
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 142
EO3 Offline
Full Member
EO3  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 142
Originally Posted by Kos

Yep, it does. I thought I was the only one to notice it smile


It's strange. Is it an error or perfectly normal to be so? And are there any ways around that. I mean, it's not like it's very noticable when playing a piece, but when playing notes 1 by 1 it is.

Originally Posted by Gigantoad


There's really just one right way: record midi from keyboard playing Vintage D in real time. If you want to save that all into an audio file, just use export audio in the file menu.
Anything else doesn't make any sense at all.


Well, it could be. At the moment I have 2 issues with this: 1. minor latency problems (I will try to figure it out, as it's really not a huge problem at the moment, but it's noticable compared to when playing inbuilt sounds).

2. a bit more major problem - velocity/keytouch levels. You see, when playing directly Vintage D, I yet have to find proper balance between keyboard (FP7F) key touch and Vintage D velocity. At the moment Vintage D velocity is at default setting, FP7F at medium +7.

Without this balance, it's not easy to achieve natural sound levels.

#2024472 - 01/31/13 08:03 AM Re: Vintage D - general [Re: EO3]  
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 142
EO3 Offline
Full Member
EO3  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 142
I now have played with Vintage D more and I manage to find good audio levels combining Vintage D audio levels and headphone volume levels, that's good for playability. More tougher to figure out how to get highest levels in end recording, it does have something to do also with MIDI levels and velocity levels also...

As far as key touch goes, I find it that there's just impossible to find 1 general setting. With different Vintage D settings and presets, different key touch is applied (all in medium levels, but range from 0 to +7).

One glitch to report - after playing a while, when pressing pedal and keys, there's some cracking/clicking noise. It shows after about of 10-20 minutes of playing... But overall, I'm getting more and more impressed by sound. I think it easly trumps recordings I did @ recording studio, and will most likely use just Vintage D samples for my recordings (with different settings,presets).

#2026712 - 02/04/13 06:15 AM Re: Vintage D - general [Re: EO3]  
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 142
EO3 Offline
Full Member
EO3  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 142
Does really nobody have experienced that glitch with pedal and cracking noise? The strange thing really is that it begins only after few minutes of playing, so I'm guessing it could be something to do with memory catch or ? Perhaps there's some way in the settings to change that? thanks a lot.

#2026719 - 02/04/13 07:19 AM Re: Vintage D - general [Re: EO3]  
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 292
SkiPablo Offline
Full Member
SkiPablo  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 292
EOS3, my computer is older and I will experience it after a few hours sometimes if I have the repedal on - if I don't turn that on i am fine. I just turn on the rest of the articulations.


Yamaha P-250 | Galaxy II Pianos | Galaxy Vintage D | The GIANT | Ravenscroft 275
#2026736 - 02/04/13 08:47 AM Re: Vintage D - general [Re: EO3]  
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 267
PtJaa Offline
Full Member
PtJaa  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 267
Czech Republic
EO3, your problem is caused by your computer, not Vintage D.
If I may ask, what hardware/OS/sound card do you have? And what buffer size do you use?
Have you optimised your computer for use with VST (as described e.g. here)?

I knew someone with a similar problem (cracking appearing after some time of playing). He used Asio4All. In his case disabling all unused inputs a outputs in "WDM device list" (in Asio4all configuration, I guess) solved the problem.



Kawai CA65 :: Galaxy: Vintage D, Vienna Grand, Giant :: Pianoteq 5 :: Kontakt 5 :: Reaper :: True Keys pianos
#2026806 - 02/04/13 10:56 AM Re: Vintage D - general [Re: PtJaa]  
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 142
EO3 Offline
Full Member
EO3  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 142
Originally Posted by PtJaa
EO3, your problem is caused by your computer, not Vintage D.
If I may ask, what hardware/OS/sound card do you have? And what buffer size do you use?
Have you optimised your computer for use with VST (as described e.g. here)?


Windows 7 (64 bit), Intel Core i3-2350M CPU 2,30 GHZ, RAM: 4GB Soundcard: Focusrite Scarlett 8i6USB Buffer size - 5ms.

Haven't optimised anything.

#2026822 - 02/04/13 11:34 AM Re: Vintage D - general [Re: EO3]  
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 979
36251 Offline
500 Post Club Member
36251  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 979
I sometimes get that click etc. with sustain pedal. I usually attribute this for not taking enough time between disabling programs on PC and give time for computer to relax. This is not a scientific study smile

Sometimes I do everything correct but it still does that, annoying but manageable.


AG N2 | CP4 | SSv3 | GK MK & MP
#2026827 - 02/04/13 11:50 AM Re: Vintage D - general [Re: EO3]  
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 292
SkiPablo Offline
Full Member
SkiPablo  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 292
EO3, did you make sure your power saving setting is on High performance. Specifically look at the setting for processor power mgmt/Minimum processor state under the advanced settings. it should be at 100% for plugged in. If it isn't your cpu speed will jump around.


Yamaha P-250 | Galaxy II Pianos | Galaxy Vintage D | The GIANT | Ravenscroft 275
#2026890 - 02/04/13 01:37 PM Re: Vintage D - general [Re: EO3]  
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 142
EO3 Offline
Full Member
EO3  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 142
OK, now I set it up on High performance. Will check in later to report if there's improvement.

update: nop, performance settings doesn't improve. But I noticed that probably when latency is set higher, these "cracks" are somehow lower, not so noticable. But setting higher latency means it's not playable.


Last edited by EO3; 02/04/13 02:01 PM.
#2026928 - 02/04/13 02:39 PM Re: Vintage D - general [Re: EO3]  
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,380
MacMacMac Offline
5000 Post Club Member
MacMacMac  Offline
5000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,380
North Carolina
EO3: I looked at the user manual for the Focusrite 8i6USB. It shows two ASIO settings. One is ASIO Buffer Size and the other is Streaming Buffer Size.

The ASIO Buffer Size choices are 2, 3, 4, 6, or 8 ms.
The Streaming Buffer Size choices are 1, 2, 3, 8, 12, 16, 24, or 32 ms.

I'll make a guess: I think the first is the input latency and the second is output latency.

If that's correct ... I have a Presonus box, and I have it set for 3 ms input latency and 18 ms output latency. (Any lower and it crackles.) So, 21 ms total latency, and it's quite playable.

You mentioned that you set yours at 5 ms. Which setting?
ASIO Buffer Size or Streaming Buffer Size.

Try setting your Streaming Buffer Size higher, say 16 ms.


#2026934 - 02/04/13 02:57 PM Re: Vintage D - general [Re: EO3]  
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 267
PtJaa Offline
Full Member
PtJaa  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 267
Czech Republic
EO3, try optimising your computer as described in the link I posted above.
Also, make sure your WI-FI is turned off before starting working with VSTs.
Even though you don't use Asio4All, disabling unused inputs/outputs or lowering the sample rate etc. could help too.

Edit: I didn't see MacMacMac's post. Seems he has much better advice.

Last edited by PtJaa; 02/04/13 03:01 PM.
#2026947 - 02/04/13 03:19 PM Re: Vintage D - general [Re: EO3]  
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,380
MacMacMac Offline
5000 Post Club Member
MacMacMac  Offline
5000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,380
North Carolina
EO3: I looked up the CPU specs.

Your Core i3-2350M, 2.30GHz gets an average CPU Mark score of 2674.
My Core2 Duo T5300, 1.73GHz gets an average CPU Mark score of 979.

So yours is MUCH faster.
You should have no trouble using ASIO Buffer Size 3 ms, and Streaming Buffer Size 16 ms.
And you might be able to drop the Streaming Buffer Size even lower.

#2027056 - 02/04/13 07:18 PM Re: Vintage D - general [Re: EO3]  
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 796
Macy Offline
500 Post Club Member
Macy  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 796
Originally Posted by EO3
Does really nobody have experienced that glitch with pedal and cracking noise? The strange thing really is that it begins only after few minutes of playing, so I'm guessing it could be something to do with memory catch or ? Perhaps there's some way in the settings to change that? thanks a lot.


Have you updated the Vintage D to the latest version? There was a fix for the pedal glitch problems that were in the initial version.


Macy

CVP-409GP, Garritan CFX, Vintage D, Ivory II GP's & American Concert D, Pianoteq, True Keys American D, Ravenscroft 275, Garritan Authorized Steinway, Alicia's Keys, EWQL Pianos, MainStage, iPad Pro/forScore/PageFlip Cicada, Custom Mac MIDI/Audio Software Design, Macs Everywhere
#2027384 - 02/05/13 12:22 PM Re: Vintage D - general [Re: EO3]  
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 142
EO3 Offline
Full Member
EO3  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 142
I think I updated it. but is there a way to be sure (or update again?)...

I'll try that optimisation stuff.


#2027591 - 02/05/13 06:53 PM Re: Vintage D - general [Re: EO3]  
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 796
Macy Offline
500 Post Club Member
Macy  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 796
Originally Posted by EO3
I think I updated it. but is there a way to be sure (or update again?)...


The fixed version is v1.2. Click on the Galaxy Vintage D name in the lower left corner to bring up the "About" screen. The version number is in the lower right corner of that screen. Also the Main screen should have PADS in the lower right corner.


Macy

CVP-409GP, Garritan CFX, Vintage D, Ivory II GP's & American Concert D, Pianoteq, True Keys American D, Ravenscroft 275, Garritan Authorized Steinway, Alicia's Keys, EWQL Pianos, MainStage, iPad Pro/forScore/PageFlip Cicada, Custom Mac MIDI/Audio Software Design, Macs Everywhere
#2027910 - 02/06/13 07:42 AM Re: Vintage D - general [Re: Macy]  
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 142
EO3 Offline
Full Member
EO3  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 142
Originally Posted by Macy
Originally Posted by EO3
I think I updated it. but is there a way to be sure (or update again?)...


The fixed version is v1.2. Click on the Galaxy Vintage D name in the lower left corner to bring up the "About" screen. The version number is in the lower right corner of that screen. Also the Main screen should have PADS in the lower right corner.


No version number in "About" section (just info about instrument), but in other section there's written: library 1.0 (should it be 1.2?)

OK, now it seems I have updated - in about section it shows 1.2, but in the other section library is still 1.0 (i guess, that's how it should be , right?)

Last edited by EO3; 02/06/13 09:21 AM.
#2032947 - 02/14/13 11:46 AM Re: Vintage D - general [Re: EO3]  
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 142
EO3 Offline
Full Member
EO3  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 142
pedal question - is there a point of adding a sustain pedal to Vintage D set up (there are obviously damper pedal function, as well as una corda with repedal,halfpedal functions, but is there sustain thingy also?). Not that it's a necessity, just curios.

#2032956 - 02/14/13 11:54 AM Re: Vintage D - general [Re: EO3]  
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 210
torhu Offline
Full Member
torhu  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 210
Do you mean a sostenuto (middle) pedal? Sustain is the same as damper. Sostenuto isn't used very often, you'll probably know if you need it or not.


Roland RD-700NX // Galaxy Vintage D
#2032970 - 02/14/13 12:11 PM Re: Vintage D - general [Re: EO3]  
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 142
EO3 Offline
Full Member
EO3  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 142
yup, I meant sostenuto - middle pedal. Actually, I'm not really sure what exactly it can do, it somehow sustains notes like damper pedal but in a different way?

#2032984 - 02/14/13 12:28 PM Re: Vintage D - general [Re: EO3]  
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 210
torhu Offline
Full Member
torhu  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 210
It only sustains the notes for which the keys are still depressed when you depress the pedal. It can be used for long sustained bass notes, etc. Kind of like a having third hand if you know what I mean.


Roland RD-700NX // Galaxy Vintage D
#2032989 - 02/14/13 12:32 PM Re: Vintage D - general [Re: EO3]  
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 56
Aeons Holle Offline
Full Member
Aeons Holle  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 56
Hamburg, Germany
If you press and hold down keys, then press the sostenuto pedal (keep holding it down), then lift your fingers of those keys, they are being sustained. Any keys played afterwards are not sustained.
If you had used the damper pedal instead, all keys being played while the pedal is down are sustained until the pedal is lifted.

So, for example, you could sustain a few notes and then play staccato with both hands afterwards without loosing your first sustained notes.


Kawai CA95
VI Labs Ravenscroft, True Keys: Pianos
Synthogy Ivory II American Concert D, Italian Grand, Grand Pianos
Galaxy Vintage D, The Giant
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3

Moderated by  Piano World 

Piano Acc. & Gift Items in
Piano World's Online Store
In PianoSupplies.com ,(a division of Piano World)
our online store for piano and music gifts and accessories, Digital Piano Dolly, party goods, tuning equipment, piano moving equipment, benches, lamps Caster Cups and more.


Free Shipping* on Jansen Artist Piano Benches, Cocoweb Piano Lamps, Hidrau Hydraulic Piano Benches
(*free shipping within contiguous U.S. only)
(ad)
Pearl River
Pearl River Pianos
(ad)
Pianoteq
PianoTeq 6 Out now
(ad)
Lindeblad Piano
Lindeblad Piano Restorations and sales
ad
Pierce Piano Atlas


New Topics - Multiple Forums
want to be a piano technician and tuner...
by Zoli. 09/19/17 04:59 AM
Duet book series
by dat77. 09/18/17 10:27 PM
Wanamaker Baby Grand
by Ronny. 09/18/17 07:31 PM
Ivory II Italian Grand
by vmishka. 09/18/17 07:14 PM
Help Working Out Steel String Spec
by Lirika. 09/18/17 04:13 PM
Forum Statistics
Forums44
Topics181,927
Posts2,658,626
Members88,865
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
(ad)
Accu-Tuner
Sanderson Accu-Tuner
Check It Out!
There's a lot more to Piano World than just the forums.
Click Here to
Explore The Rest of Piano World!!
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers


 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter |


copyright 1997 - 2017 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0