2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
70 members (Carey, Bellyman, AlkansBookcase, accordeur, akse0435, Barry_Braksick, BadSanta, danbot3, 13 invisible), 1,830 guests, and 303 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
R
RosieP Offline OP
OP Offline
R
Hi everyone,

I am a newbie here. I have just started my search for a grand piano having decided that our old upright has seen better days. My young son is taking lessons and I am an adult beginner. The thought of looking for a new piano is exciting, but it is also quite terrifying. Besides the choice out there (which I had no idea existed until I joined this forum and read Piano Buyer), there is also the dilemma of testing pianos. As a relative beginner, the thought of playing pianos in the presence of the very experienced sales staff and other customers brings me out in a cold sweat!

Can someone please give me some simple strategies for trying out pianos without looking (and feeling like) a complete dumbo.

Many thanks - this forum has been so useful for me so far in my search.

Rosie

B
BDB Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
B
A chromatic scale all the way across the range of the piano tells me most of what I need to know to evaluate a piano. I play it as evenly as possible, listening and feeling for notes that stand out in any way.

Semipro Tech

Platinum Supporter until October 5 2014
7000 Post Club Member

Platinum Supporter until October 5 2014
7000 Post Club Member
Hi - Welcome to Piano World!