2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
70 members (bcalvanese, amc252, akse0435, 20/20 Vision, benkeys, apianostudent, Bellyman, AlkansBookcase, 14 invisible), 2,112 guests, and 315 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
T
OP Offline
T
I've been self-studying piano for several years, but have recently decided that I will make more progress under the direction of a piano teacher.

In my school years I took clarinet private lessons and played in musical groups during school. As an adult I took class piano and private voice lessons and performed in music groups, so I have an understanding of some relevant music theory and the discipline to practice.

I will be getting recommendations from several pianists for local piano teachers teaching adults. My question is what characteristics and experience should I consider in selecting a piano teacher?

B

Gold Supporter until July 10  2014
1000 Post Club Member

Gold Supporter until July 10  2014
1000 Post Club Member
B
Originally Posted by tone_depth
I will be getting recommendations from several pianists for local piano teachers teaching adults. My question is what characteristics and experience should I consider in selecting a piano teacher?

1)Know your desired focus (and factor in that it can change over time);
-Classical piano
-Composition/improvisation (Classically focused)
-Jazz/improvisation
-All of the above

Often what teachers have to offer will be limited to just one of the above, but there are many experienced with a bit of all.