2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
46 members (Burkhard, 1200s, clothearednincompo, akse0435, busa, Doug M., 36251, Davidnewmind, Dfrankjazz, 5 invisible), 1,212 guests, and 257 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#1997455 12/10/12 06:19 PM
D
Doug145 Offline OP
OP Offline
D
Hi there, new user here and nice to meet you all, and I could use your help. What level or "grade" am I and how to move to the next level?

I've been playing the piano self taught since I was 3 years old (40 years). I took about 3 months of lessons when I was 10 and that was the end of my "formal" education. I've come to a point where I would like to truly be a concert pianist (pausing for the hysterical laughing), not for profession but for personal fulfillment. My goal is to play a real piano concerto with an orchestra.

I "classically" trained myself on Chopin, Beethoven, Bach, etc., and have played jazz, blues, ragtime, new age, and my own compositions. I stopped training when I was 18 and about 5 years ago decided to get back to my true passion seriously. Over the last two years I committed myself to rigorous training with Hanon, Czerny(sp?), scales, arpeggios, etc. The wall that I have hit is technique related. Double thirds and 6ths aren't strong, strength in 4 and 5 is terrible in my opinion (3-4 and 4-5 trills are embarrasing), left hand is weak overall. My accuracy and raw technical abilities are average but need improvement before feeling comfortable performing something like the Grieg Concerto with orchestra. Someday I WILL tackle the Rach 3 but I have a long way to go I think!