Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.5 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!


SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Modern Piano Moving
Modern Piano Moving
(ad)
Virtual Sheet Music
Download Sheet Music Instantly
Virtual Sheet Music - Classical Sheet Music Downloads
Sheet Music...
(125ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad)
Piano Buyer Guide
Piano Buyer Spring 2017
(ad)
Lindeblad Piano
Lindeblad Piano Restorations and sales
Who's Online Now
113 registered members (amad23, anotherscott, AlanB, Beakybird, Bambers, 26 invisible), 1,957 guests, and 6 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers

Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Directory/Site Map
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords & Scales
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
#1996511 - 12/08/12 06:16 PM Re: Galaxy Vintage D - Audio Dropouts ??? [Re: Macy]  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 67
Acca Offline
Full Member
Acca  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 67
Originally Posted by Macy
I play Kontakt for hours with 8 GB of RAM and it never pages-out and there are no drop-outs.


I can play Vintage D for hours on a 2Gb Ram, 6 year old laptop with an old dual core processor, and it will not drop out. Granted it's at the limit of RAM space and when resuming from sleep that sometimes screws it up.

If the OP thinks that changing to a firewire/USB 3 drive will help, he will be disappointed.

(ad) ROLAND

Click Here

#1996517 - 12/08/12 06:33 PM Re: Galaxy Vintage D - Audio Dropouts ??? [Re: musicmad]  
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,785
sullivang Offline
2000 Post Club Member
sullivang  Offline
2000 Post Club Member

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,785
Sydney, Australia
Macy:
Ok. I just know that on Windows, it definitely relies on the file system cache for caching that portion of the sample that occurs after the pre-load portion. I know this because when I clear the file system cache, and hold a note for a long time, it re-loads that later portion of the sample from disk. If I don't clear the file system cache, playing the same note twice, and holding it for a long time, does NOT result in any disk activity the second time it is played.

So, given that it is only using the file system cache for the later portion of the samples, it seemed logical to me that this memory would be freed up if an application really did attempt to allocate some memory proper. (but as I later edited, it's still possible that this doesn't happen immediately)

I realise that the Mac design could be totally different, in any case.

Yes, agreed, if there is paging that occurs when the dropouts occur, of course that would be a likely cause.

Greg.

Last edited by sullivang; 12/08/12 06:47 PM.

Middle-aged Jeremy Clarkson acolyte.
#1996527 - 12/08/12 06:50 PM Re: Galaxy Vintage D - Audio Dropouts ??? [Re: sullivang]  
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 796
Macy Offline
500 Post Club Member
Macy  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 796
Originally Posted by sullivang
So, given that it is only using the file system cache for the later portion of the samples, it seemed logical to me that this memory would be freed up if an application really did attempt to allocate some memory proper. (but as I later edited, it's still possible that this doesn't happen immediately)

Yep, that is what I said. The Inactive RAM does not get paged-out until more active RAM is needed. Otherwise the inactive RAM simply remains filled with the previous data. So if the application needs that data again, it will become active RAM again, without reading the disc.


Macy

CVP-409GP, Garritan CFX, Vintage D, Ivory II GP's & American Concert D, Pianoteq, True Keys American D, Ravenscroft 275, Garritan Authorized Steinway, Alicia's Keys, EWQL Pianos, MainStage, iPad Pro/forScore/PageFlip Cicada, Custom Mac MIDI/Audio Software Design, Macs Everywhere
#1996538 - 12/08/12 07:22 PM Re: Galaxy Vintage D - Audio Dropouts ??? [Re: musicmad]  
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,785
sullivang Offline
2000 Post Club Member
sullivang  Offline
2000 Post Club Member

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,785
Sydney, Australia
I'm confused now. To me, "Inactive RAM" is memory for which the data is no longer required. That memory is now available for anything - the same application, or another application. I thought that "Inactive RAM" would NEVER be paged out, because the data in that memory is not needed any more. I thought only "active" RAM would ever be paged out - paging saves the contents of memory to disk, so that that same block of RAM can be used for something else. When the paged out memory is required again, it is again loaded into RAM somewhere.

If you're saying that there is a distinction between "Inactive RAM" and memory that has been deallocated completely, then that's a subtlety I was not aware occurred.

Greg.

Last edited by sullivang; 12/08/12 07:32 PM.

Middle-aged Jeremy Clarkson acolyte.
(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
#1996548 - 12/08/12 07:46 PM Re: Galaxy Vintage D - Audio Dropouts ??? [Re: musicmad]  
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,197
MacMacMac Offline
5000 Post Club Member
MacMacMac  Offline
5000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,197
North Carolina
sulli: You terminology is not quite right (active/inactive), but you have the concept down correctly ... at least for the heap space: Unused memory will not be paged out. What would be the point? After all, heap space is just memory used by a process (or shared by multiple processes). If the process(es) have exited, the content of the memory it/they formerly owned is pure junk which cannot be used for any purpose. So there's no need to page it out. Instead, the memory can be reallocated as needed.

But in the disk buffer cache things are a bit different. Any disk reads or writes coming into the buffer cache will stay there, possibly for a long time. Even if the process(es) that fetched from (or wrote to) a file that is resident in the buffer cache have terminated, the cache content remains valid. So, a new process can open a file whose contents are already resident in the buffer cache ... and the cached content can be used instead of fetching from disk.

I don't think any of the buffer cache ever gets paged out. What would be the point? If space is needed in the buffer cache for new disk reads/write and none is available, some of the existing content can either be (a) discarded if it is not "dirty", or (b) copied to the disk file(s) to which it belongs, if it is "dirty". Either way, this frees up some buffer cache space. No need to swap/page it at all.

This is my understanding of Unix, and so it should apply to the Mac. It might be partly or substantially true for Windows, too ... not sure. But the OP has a Mac, so ...

#1996558 - 12/08/12 08:13 PM Re: Galaxy Vintage D - Audio Dropouts ??? [Re: sullivang]  
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 796
Macy Offline
500 Post Club Member
Macy  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 796
Originally Posted by sullivang
I'm confused now. To me, "Inactive RAM" is memory for which the data is no longer required. That memory is now available for anything - the same application, or another application. I thought that "Inactive RAM" would NEVER be paged out, because the data in that memory is not needed any more. I thought only "active" RAM would ever be paged out - paging saves the contents of memory to disk, so that that same block of RAM can be used for something else. When the paged out memory is required again, it is again loaded into RAM somewhere.

If you're saying that there is a distinction between "Inactive RAM" and memory that has been deallocated completely, then that's a subtlety I was not aware occurred.

Greg.


Like I said I didn't really want to go into this because the terminology is confusing, the Mac is not like a PC, and even though the Mac uses Unix the terminology is a little different between them too.

On a Mac:

Wired RAM - is memory that is used by the OS and never paged-out and never made inactive.

Active RAM - is memory that is currently in use by a currently active application. It is never paged-out, but it can be made inactive RAM.

Free RAM - RAM that has not been used yet.

Inactive RAM - is memory that is NOT currently in use but was in use by a currently active application or the OS. It is data kept in RAM so that if a current application wants the data again it is already in RAM and doesn't need to be read from the disc again. BUT if the current application, or the system, needs more Active RAM that exceeds the available Free RAM (the amount of RAM the OS determines must remain free) then Inactive RAM is paged-out to the disc.

Data is not "deallocated completely" from inactive RAM until its application quits or the RAM was paged-out to make additional active RAM. That way any current app can get the data again that it has previously read as long as it wasn't paged-out.

OK?







Macy

CVP-409GP, Garritan CFX, Vintage D, Ivory II GP's & American Concert D, Pianoteq, True Keys American D, Ravenscroft 275, Garritan Authorized Steinway, Alicia's Keys, EWQL Pianos, MainStage, iPad Pro/forScore/PageFlip Cicada, Custom Mac MIDI/Audio Software Design, Macs Everywhere
#1996561 - 12/08/12 08:17 PM Re: Galaxy Vintage D - Audio Dropouts ??? [Re: gvfarns]  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 507
o0Ampy0o Offline
500 Post Club Member
o0Ampy0o  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 507
Originally Posted by gvfarns
Brain damage. You certainly implied exactly what I said you did. If you had previously inferred it, that's also wrong, but it's your own personal problem. Had you not shared that incorrect inference here, no one else would have been subjected to it and there would be no confusion on the matter.

But anyway, if you did not intend to say what I quoted you as saying, then that's good. It's just a failure to communicate. If anyone wants to know the answer to the question musicmad posed, they can ignore your posts and get the correct info from the other posters in this thread.


This is being addressed in a separate thread here.

#1996687 - 12/09/12 02:10 AM Re: Galaxy Vintage D - Audio Dropouts ??? [Re: musicmad]  
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,785
sullivang Offline
2000 Post Club Member
sullivang  Offline
2000 Post Club Member

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,785
Sydney, Australia
Macy: Thankyou! Much much better. I have done a bit of Googling as well, and it is all becoming clear. All those terms are new to me.

I was thinking that the application had taken some action to make Active RAM become Inactive RAM, such as deallocating virtual memory. The only "action" that is taken is INACTION. The OS deems those pages of memory as good candidates for swapping out simply because the application has not used those pages for a while! smile

A couple of points though:
1. I assume Free Memory could also be memory that was in use, but has now become free, due for example to an application explicitly deallocating virtual memory, or to the application closing. (agreed?)

2. This statement of yours does not seem to be quite right:
Originally Posted by Macy

Originally Posted by Sullivang
So, given that it is only using the file system cache for the later portion of the samples, it seemed logical to me that this memory would be freed up if an application really did attempt to allocate some memory proper. (but as I later edited, it's still possible that this doesn't happen immediately)


Yep, that is what I said. The Inactive RAM does not get paged-out until more active RAM is needed. Otherwise the inactive RAM simply remains filled with the previous data. So if the application needs that data again, it will become active RAM again, without reading the disc.


IMHO it is invalid to refer to the file system cache as "Inactive RAM", because pages that the OS has used to cache disk reads would NEVER be paged out - they would simply be removed from the cache and allowed to be allocated. (presumably entering the Active state at the outset if they are to be used immediately, or being marked as Free) I.e - it doesn't make sense to write the data out to the page file, because the same data is already in the sample file from which it was read. ;^)

I know we haven't yet determined whether the file system cache is used for Kontakt on a Mac.

Greg.

Last edited by sullivang; 12/09/12 02:56 AM.

Middle-aged Jeremy Clarkson acolyte.
#1996762 - 12/09/12 07:39 AM Re: Galaxy Vintage D - Audio Dropouts ??? [Re: musicmad]  
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,197
MacMacMac Offline
5000 Post Club Member
MacMacMac  Offline
5000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,197
North Carolina
In the Unixes, the file system cache is used for all file accesses. (To bypass it would require a system hack.)

#1996763 - 12/09/12 07:43 AM Re: Galaxy Vintage D - Audio Dropouts ??? [Re: musicmad]  
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,785
sullivang Offline
2000 Post Club Member
sullivang  Offline
2000 Post Club Member

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,785
Sydney, Australia
MacMacMac: I do not think that is correct. It is possible to do direct i/o to files which bypasses the cache. (and I don't mean raw i/o to the disk - it is still file level i/o)

Greg.


Middle-aged Jeremy Clarkson acolyte.
#1996767 - 12/09/12 07:55 AM Re: Galaxy Vintage D - Audio Dropouts ??? [Re: musicmad]  
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,197
MacMacMac Offline
5000 Post Club Member
MacMacMac  Offline
5000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,197
North Carolina
Well, that must be a special case. I only know of raw-disk access. Used it for a while back in the 80s for performance on database servers.

But whether by raw-disk or other means, does this piano software bypass the cache? And if so, why would it? You play the same notes on the piano again and again, so you need the same data repeatedly. The disk cache is a fine way to accomplish that.

If the software bypasses the cache, it would have to implement its own caching. Why invent what's already there?

#1996771 - 12/09/12 08:01 AM Re: Galaxy Vintage D - Audio Dropouts ??? [Re: musicmad]  
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,785
sullivang Offline
2000 Post Club Member
sullivang  Offline
2000 Post Club Member

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,785
Sydney, Australia
MacMacMac: As I said, on Windows the samples are read through the file system cache - I have proved it IMHO. Chances are it's the same situation on the Mac, but we don't know for sure yet. If it DOES, then to re-iterate my original point: it seems plausible that if Kontakt has caused the file cache to grow appreciably, and then something (another app, or even Kontakt itself) needs to allocate some memory, rather than page out memory that is already in use, it would probably use some memory from the file cache instead, which would cause no disk activity at all. (until of course the sample data that was in those pages of memory is needed again)

I agree that it is more likely than not that the file cache is used for Kontakt on the Mac.

Greg.


Middle-aged Jeremy Clarkson acolyte.
#1996773 - 12/09/12 08:12 AM Re: Galaxy Vintage D - Audio Dropouts ??? [Re: musicmad]  
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,785
sullivang Offline
2000 Post Club Member
sullivang  Offline
2000 Post Club Member

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,785
Sydney, Australia
(and to prove that files can be accessed without the cache on Unixes, you could try the fio file system exerciser. See the "direct=[true|false]" flag. I have tried this on Ubuntu. )

Greg.

Last edited by sullivang; 12/09/12 08:17 AM.

Middle-aged Jeremy Clarkson acolyte.
#2070015 - 04/24/13 02:50 PM Re: Galaxy Vintage D - Audio Dropouts ??? [Re: musicmad]  
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 26
sorrownightingale Offline
Full Member
sorrownightingale  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 26
Tenerife-Canary Island-Spain
Hi,
I am running Vintage D 1.2 on Kontakt 5 full, my system is an Intel Quad Core Q9400 2.66Ghz 8GB ram winx64 with Creative Audigy 4 pro, asio 24/96, latency 7.0 mseg, buffer 672 samples, pre-load 240KB. My keyboard Yamaha S90xs and CME GPP-3 tri pedal.On Kontakt 4 I did not have drop out but, with Kontakt 5 if I enable repedalling on Vintage D, cpu load increases and then drop out, maybe,it is too much information midi of the continuos sustain pedal.I have run latency check and my system is enabled, then, what is the problem?

Page 2 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Piano World 

Piano Acc. & Gift Items in
Piano World's Online Store
In PianoSupplies.com ,(a division of Piano World) our online store for piano and music gifts and accessories, party goods, tuning equipment, piano moving equipment, benches, lamps Caster Cups and more.


Free Shipping on Jansen Artist Piano Benches
(ad)
Pearl River
Pearl River Pianos
ad
Pierce Piano Atlas


(ad)
Pianoteq
Grotrian Concert
Royal
for Pianoteq out now
What's Hot!!
Why Do You Play The Piano?
-------------------
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums RULES & HELP
-------------------
ADVERTISE on Piano World
-------------------
Piano Classified Ads
New Topics - Multiple Forums
refinish bridge
by grand idea. 06/28/17 06:43 AM
Are there any Steingraeber & Sohne pianos in Australia?
by PerfectPianoSearch. 06/28/17 03:22 AM
Kawai or Yamaha for classical music?
by James Guo. 06/27/17 10:47 PM
I hope I'm still playing...
by Retsacnal. 06/27/17 10:02 PM
Playing Some (Not All) Movements of a Piece?
by ClsscLib. 06/27/17 08:13 PM
(ad)
Sheet Music Plus
Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale
(ad)
Accu-Tuner
Sanderson Accu-Tuner
Forum Statistics
Forums44
Topics180,496
Posts2,639,741
Members88,206
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
Check It Out!
There's a lot more to Piano World than just the forums.
Check It Out!
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers


 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter |


copyright 1997 - 2017 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0