2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
42 members (1200s, clothearednincompo, FredrikNilsen, busa, Doug M., 36251, Davidnewmind, Dfrankjazz, brdwyguy, 6 invisible), 1,147 guests, and 257 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
I
500 Post Club Member
OP Offline
500 Post Club Member
I
I plan on what I'm calling semi-retirement in about 2 1/2 years. I majored in music in college. Then ended up making my living in other ways. I've cultivated my piano skills all through my adult life. But rather than play the diet heavy in Bach and Beethoven I've taught myself to play jazz with a fake book, a lot of listening, and a lot of trial and error.

So I want to teach piano about 8-12 hours per week. I also want to spend 4 hours per day working on music (outside of teaching) by writing and playing it. I also currently play through some of the "Songs Without Words" by Mendelssohn. I may pursue an advanced degree if I can find something appealing and with a significant portion done online. This would be in maybe jazz studies with some composition.

All of this explanation was to give a little background about myself. I'm looking for advice regarding how I should start this pursuit - teaching that is. Method book series to work from, and any other advice some of you might have.

Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks,

David

4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member
Teaching is an art and a skill, regardless of the topic.

Have you had any teaching experience? You don't mention any, and one of the big problems in the piano teaching world is for people who can play to therefore think that they can teach.