2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
70 members (brennbaer, Bellyman, Barly, 1957, btcomm, Animisha, bobrunyan, 14 invisible), 1,996 guests, and 343 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
M
OP Offline
M
Hi all,

I am also a relatively new adult piano player at 23 years old. Ive been playing for approx 6 months (with 4 months of lessons)and am not sure how well I am progressing. I noticed a lot of people mentioned efficient practice techniques so thought I would request some advice.

Initially I began using the Alfred's Basic adult book and Pam wedgewood books to teach myself some basic melody and a few chords but I found these relatively boring so I didnt stick with those for long.

I moved on to using the Trinity Guildhall grade books and my main learning is on these at the moment. My first question is should I be absolutely perfecting all of these pieces before I move on to new things?

I got to a relatively decent level with the intial grade pieces and then my teacher moved me onto Grade 1 which I have been playing for a few months. The main difficulty I have is that everytime I play a piece I always, always make a couple of mistakes somewhere, any advice on how to minimise these or will it just take time?

Should it be taking me such a long time to learn pieces like this? I feel like I should be able to play them perfectly after a couple months of playing them pretty much everyday :S. Im worried I wont solve this issue by my exam date. Should I return to my initial grade pieces and make sure I can play them to a higher standard now?