2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
73 members (AndyOnThePiano2, APianistHasNoName, AlkansBookcase, Charles Cohen, BillS728, 36251, anotherscott, 12 invisible), 2,120 guests, and 337 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
T
OP Offline
T
This is Grade 5 ABRSM btw.

I started learning piano this year. I've decided that I don't want to do every grade, but a simple progression would be just the Grade 5 and then the Grade 8. I am prepared to work hard to achieve this, since I actually like playing piano, practising for a couple of hours daily isn't a daunting task.

I do have a teacher and will ask him next lesson if its possible for me, but in general is this possible?

How long did it take you to get to grade 5?

6000 Post Club Member
Online Content
6000 Post Club Member
Originally Posted by Teenagepiano
I am prepared to work hard to achieve this,
Since you are ready to work hard, yes, it is possible.
I never did grades. My teacher took me out of graded books when I was playing for about a year and a half. After that, I purchased complete books of scores like all the Chopin Waltzes, Preludes, etc. and played with those. I never had any idea what grade I was playing. When I finally found out, I was a bit surprised to say the least.

Best regards,

Deborah
B
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
B
It depends on how naturally talented you are. You can even reach grade 8 within 3 years (many prodigies have) if you have the work ethic as well as the talent - though I think you'll need much more than 2 hours/day practice to achieve that, talent or no talent.