2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
71 members (benkeys, apianostudent, Bellyman, AlkansBookcase, accordeur, akse0435, Barry_Braksick, 12 invisible), 1,851 guests, and 288 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
M
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
M
So I've been teaching this adult student for 6 or 7 years now. She retired a little over a year ago and has gotten into volunteering in the community, but she still has plenty of time to practice, and usually would practice every day for 45 minutes. She loves her lessons and is very dependable.

Her progress has been quite slow, however, and while I don't have a problem with that, I suspect that might be the issue here. She's not what one would consider talented. It has taken her probably 2 years to get through Book 2 of Hal Leonard's Adult method. We have worked on supplemental pieces of course, so that's not all she's been doing. She enjoys playing Hanon which has really helped her tremendously in being able to keep the beat going and not pause at bar lines. Recently, however, she's fallen into a slump of not practicing. She feels bad, and I don't make a big deal out of it, I just say, "It happens to us all sometimes" and we use the lesson as a practice session.