2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
42 members (36251, Doug M., Davidnewmind, Dfrankjazz, brdwyguy, busa, benkeys, Burkhard, David Boyce, 6 invisible), 1,092 guests, and 255 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#1987611 11/16/12 09:34 PM
U
Uharc Offline OP
OP Offline
U
Hello, I am a beginner. This arrangement is in e flat major, and I think that the chords are Cm, Fm, Eb and Bb, but I want to understand the pattern being played with the chords and what the chords actually are in this arrangement, for example I see broken chord inversions but I can't tell which chords are being played at what time and when the change from chord to chord is occurring and what pattern is being followed.
Skip to 40 seconds into the video and take a look, any explanation would be appreciated. I want to learn this arrangement, but it would be a lot easier if I understood what I was doing and which chords I was playing.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YXj2OitOHRE

B
B
Is your question more about the Left Hand or the Right Hand?

If you have trouble following the Left Hand I would suggest trying a simpler arrangement such as a Root, 5th, Octave arpeggio. Then to extend it the whole measure just toggle back and forth between the 2 high notes- the Octave and the 5th. So- Root, 5th, Octave, 5th, Octave, 5th, Octave, 5th.

If you have a good span/reach you could then try adding the high 3rd instead of the Octave. So Root, 5th, 3rd above the 5th etc.