2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
23 members (HZPiano, admodios, johnesp, clothearednincompo, crab89, JohnCW, Georg Z., Joseph Fleetwood, 7 invisible), 1,274 guests, and 297 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
OP Offline
Hi all,

I'm a new member here. I'm planning to buy a piano (from Yamaha) soon, though I face a few dilemmas. Since I've been using digital piano all the time, I have very little knowledge on acoustic ones, please help! confused

First of all, I'd like to ask, when we open the cover of the piano, the letters and numbers on the golden plate are the model and serial numbers? What if it's W 2486055? That means "W" is the model and 2486055 is the serial number? Is there a Yamaha upright called "W"? I can't seem to find any information about it on internet.

Some told me that "YUX" is a very good model. But my friend and her teacher kept telling me that "W" is even a better one. I couldn't really trust that because, 1) The teacher is the seller. 2) Nobody knows about "W". 3) The teacher said that the "W" she sold to my friend was quite new (approximately 10 years old), but I found out that her serial number is 2486055, that makes it around 30-40 years old, according to some website. I didn't really get to try out the YUX properly because it was very noisy that time. Moreover, I'm not an expert in this field.

My English isn't really good but I hope you guys understand what I'm trying to say. So, opinions please? frown

P.S. The "YUX" is at the other shop and the "W" is at my friend's house, so I don't think I'll go there again.

Thanks a lot.

4000 Post Club Member