Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.5 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
What's Hot!!
Hurricane Irma & Our Piano Friends!
--------------------
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums RULES & HELP
-------------------
ADVERTISE on Piano World
(ad)
Virtual Sheet Music
Download Sheet Music Instantly
Virtual Sheet Music - Classical Sheet Music Downloads
Sheet Music...
(125ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad)
Piano Buyer Guide
Piano Buyer Spring 2017
(ad)
4th Finger Enigma Resolved!
Schumann's 4th Finger Enigma Resolved!
Who's Online Now
53 registered members (accordeur, anamnesis, Andy001, Almaviva, ando, 12 invisible), 1,751 guests, and 3 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers

Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Directory/Site Map
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords & Scales
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#1981967 - 11/02/12 08:35 PM Piano Program: Synthesia  
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 10
PianoApprentice Offline
Junior Member
PianoApprentice  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 10
For those that have a program called Synthesia, how can you change the different types of pianos that are playable? Every time I test out a song it sounds too rough because it's under the Acoustic Piano; here are the available selections: http://oi49.tinypic.com/2wn61j8.jpg

How can I get a sound like this one:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=CjgRhbyBMdI

(ad) ROLAND

Click Here

#1982062 - 11/03/12 05:23 AM Re: Piano Program: Synthesia [Re: PianoApprentice]  
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 351
Gigantoad Offline
Full Member
Gigantoad  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 351
You can have Synthesia play your favorite VST. You need a midi loopback driver like LoopBe1. Download from here:

http://nerds.de/en/download.html

Install and restart both Synthesia and the VST. In Synthesia go into "Keyboard Setup" and choose LoopBe1 as the output device. Then go into your VST and choose LoopBe1 as the midi input device.

Synthesia should now be playing the VST instead of the very basic wavetable synth of your soundcard.

#1982080 - 11/03/12 07:47 AM Re: Piano Program: Synthesia [Re: PianoApprentice]  
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,385
MacMacMac Offline
5000 Post Club Member
MacMacMac  Offline
5000 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 5,385
North Carolina
I presume you're a beginner? If so, do yourself a BIG favor and drop Synthesia. It a HORRIBLE way to learn. It teaches you how to read a piano roll. This is not good.

Instead, you must learn to read music.

#1982147 - 11/03/12 11:17 AM Re: Piano Program: Synthesia [Re: PianoApprentice]  
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 504
justpin Offline
500 Post Club Member
justpin  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 504
Holmes Chapel
As above.

I was a synthesia user. I haven't used it in 3 months.

Its a glorified version of Casio/Yamaha light up keys.

Although it could give me an indication of what keys, I found it was just teaching me songs, instead of arming me with a tool kit to be able to play from any sheet music.


(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
#1982237 - 11/03/12 02:30 PM Re: Piano Program: Synthesia [Re: PianoApprentice]  
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 237
jarosujo Offline
Full Member
jarosujo  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 237
Slovakia
If you are beginner (like me) and you want to learn notes , I would recommend Jalmus (free) or Prestokeys. Just connect to PC through MIDI, place monitor on DP and try to play notes as you see them. You can adjust speed, range... Really great, I learned a lot in few weeks.


Yamaha NP-V80 (sold)
Yamaha DGX640 (sold)
Kawai CL-36
Pianoteq Standard + Intel NUC DC3217BY + Sennheiser HD598 + Fostex PM0.4n + NI Audio 2
#1982394 - 11/03/12 09:24 PM Re: Piano Program: Synthesia [Re: PianoApprentice]  
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,329
tangleweeds Offline

Silver Supporter until Jan 11 2012
tangleweeds  Offline

Silver Supporter until Jan 11 2012


Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,329
Portland, OR
PrestoKeys is awesome. You can customize it to make it easy enough for a rank beginner, or hard enough to keep you challenged several years in. It works great with my Macbook & Casio PX-330 -- totally plug & play.

And I agree with everyone above. Bite the bullet and learn to read notes. It's just like becoming literate. You can make it through life without knowing how to read, but once you've learned do it, it opens many vistas which would be quite troublesome to explore without it... plus it comes in handy every day.


Please step aside. You're standing in your own way.
#1982397 - 11/03/12 09:28 PM Re: Piano Program: Synthesia [Re: PianoApprentice]  
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,329
tangleweeds Offline

Silver Supporter until Jan 11 2012
tangleweeds  Offline

Silver Supporter until Jan 11 2012


Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,329
Portland, OR
Oh, those are little red notes on your avatar. At first I thought they were splatters of blood, and was thinking "Gothic? or Noir???" laugh


Please step aside. You're standing in your own way.
#1983967 - 11/08/12 02:04 AM Re: Piano Program: Synthesia [Re: PianoApprentice]  
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 34
Hub. Offline
Full Member
Hub.  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 34
The LoopBe1 is cool... but I realised that the metronome sound is gone, the VST (Ivory II) doesn't produce the metronome sound, anyone knows the solution for that?


Moderated by  Piano World 

Piano Acc. & Gift Items in
Piano World's Online Store
In PianoSupplies.com ,(a division of Piano World)
our online store for piano and music gifts and accessories, Digital Piano Dolly, party goods, tuning equipment, piano moving equipment, benches, lamps Caster Cups and more.


Free Shipping* on Jansen Artist Piano Benches, Cocoweb Piano Lamps, Hidrau Hydraulic Piano Benches
(*free shipping within contiguous U.S. only)
(ad)
Pearl River
Pearl River Pianos
(ad)
Pianoteq
PianoTeq 6 Out now
(ad)
Lindeblad Piano
Lindeblad Piano Restorations and sales
ad
Pierce Piano Atlas


New Topics - Multiple Forums
Shipping insurance from Canada to Asia
by zanarkanda. 09/20/17 12:31 AM
Voicing Lead Sheets/ Fake Books?
by MacMorrighan. 09/19/17 09:34 PM
Iconic Out of Tune Pianos
by That Guy. 09/19/17 09:08 PM
Do technicians play the piano or just work on them?
by Lakeviewsteve. 09/19/17 08:24 PM
Your Piano's Character Flaws
by Grandman. 09/19/17 06:39 PM
Forum Statistics
Forums44
Topics181,944
Posts2,658,850
Members88,871
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
(ad)
Accu-Tuner
Sanderson Accu-Tuner
Check It Out!
There's a lot more to Piano World than just the forums.
Click Here to
Explore The Rest of Piano World!!
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers


 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter |


copyright 1997 - 2017 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0