2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
65 members (36251, anotherscott, Bellyman, Carey, brennbaer, busa, ChickenBrother, 9 invisible), 2,093 guests, and 310 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#1978400 10/25/12 08:58 AM
M
OP Offline
M

Hello community Im a pianist from ireland just working on my senior cert ( step lower than dyploma ) . I always wanted to learn jazz and so i tryied utube and looked for some books . Though it didnt work for me as i had the feeling that most of tuem are written for people that know quite a lot bout jazz allready. I also looked for a teacher though there is none where i live.So here is my question . What is the good way to start ? and what is the best way to apporach it ? Masteusz .
Ps . I know that there is probably milions of such threads BUT i m rather intrested in actual music sheets , books or whatever might help me to start my adventure with jazz.

J
jjo Offline
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
J
1. Start by listening to a ton of jazz. Books help, but you really learn by listening and imitating. Books help you understand what you're listening to, so they can shorten the process. You should listen EVERY day to some jazz.
2. Next, I recommend the Jazz Piano Book by Mark Levine. It's what my teacher has used with me. It's not a lesson book, but more of a resource, but it will give you a lot to work on.
3. Buy a fake book, such as the New Real Book. Your goal is to be able to play a tune by just looking at the melody and the chords, and that's the the fake books give you.