2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
70 members (Carey, clothearednincompo, Bellyman, AlkansBookcase, accordeur, akse0435, Barry_Braksick, BadSanta, 12 invisible), 1,878 guests, and 304 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#1975169 10/18/12 12:51 PM
C
CyndiV Offline OP
OP Offline
C
Hi!
I am an adult student taking lessons from a private piano teacher. Currently working through Level 4 Favorite Classic Melodies by Bastien.

I have been experiencing some frustration with my lessons lately and am wondering if it's truly just *ME* (highly possible) or maybe is a problem others experience.

I play at home on an older Fischer baby grand. It's in tune and has lovely, light action...easy to play. I practice my pieces and feel ready for my lessons but when I get there...it all goes down hill.

My teacher has a digital Clavinova. The action is much harder and I find myself thrown off, distracting me, killing my timing and making mistakes because the 'feel' is so different.

Do you experience the same thing with other students? Is this a hurdle I need to just 'get over'? It's caused a lot of frustration for me, especially as the pieces have become more technically challenging (for my level).

Please let me know if you've experienced this with other students and what/how you over come it?

With thanks
Cyndi

CyndiV #1975193 10/18/12 01:34 PM
M
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
M
Have you recorded your practice at home and in a lesson and talked to your teacher about it?