2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
34 members (benkeys, Burkhard, fullerphoto, Erinmarriott, David Boyce, 20/20 Vision, Animisha, beeboss, Cominut, brennbaer, 3 invisible), 1,329 guests, and 278 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
36251 Offline OP
1000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
1000 Post Club Member
I like to know how you would analyze this pick up to his solo. I'm especially interested in the line of the D7b9.

[Linked Image]

AvantGrand N2 | ES520 | Gallien-Krueger MK & MP
https://soundcloud.com/pete36251
J
jjo Offline
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
J
I'm no expert on this, but it looks like a I-VI-II-V, which is a standard turn around, but the V is missing. The D7 (which has a #5 and b9) is an altered VI chord. The only odd thing, as I mentioned, is that the C7 chord should end the sequence. Maybe the bass player does something to fill that in.

B
1000 Post Club Member
Online Content
1000 Post Club Member
B
Nobody is playing a D7b9 at that point so solo break doesn't have to have anything to do with that chord. Maybe Red is thinking of a C7 altered in the 2nd bar judging by his note choice, but who knows?

L
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
L
Originally Posted by 36251
I like to know how you would analyze this pick up to his solo.

For what sort of analysis are you hoping?

It is a sincere question. If you are sort of expecting the notes Red Garland plays in his right hand to match chord tones from the chord symbols, that is going to happen less than 40% of the time.