2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
42 members (bwv543, Andre Fadel, Animisha, alexcomoda, benkeys, Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, 10 invisible), 1,172 guests, and 282 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
B
bzpiano Offline OP
1000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
1000 Post Club Member
B
Dear Piano Teachers...
When meeting new people, usually people ask what is your occupation, hobby etc trying to get to know each other. I encounter plenty of people asking me if I have a part time job when they know I am a piano teacher.
I wonder if you encounter the same thing as me. Is it normal to ask a piano teacher if they have part time job? I mean, we seldom ask if a dentist or a doctor has a part time job, but I got this 90% of the time, new friends asking me if I have a part time job.....

Piano lessons in Irvine, CA
Follow my 4YO student here: http://bit.ly/FollowMeiY
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
Yes, I've been asked it, but in reverse to the way I think you are asking it.. they ask "Do you do this part time?"

O
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
O
I had someone ask me a couple of years ago whether I "work during the day". I said yes I start at 12:30 pm, but that most people want a later lesson. Afterwards I realized she wanted to know what ELSE I did for a living. No one has asked lately...since my studio has grown.

Another edit: Now that I think of it I have not met anyone the last few years except piano students, their parents and piano teachers. My lack of a social life explains why I haven't been asked about this topic lately. frown