2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
23 members (AlkansBookcase, cmoody31, dh371, Fried Chicken, 20/20 Vision, admodios, clothearednincompo, crab89, 6 invisible), 1,235 guests, and 304 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
B
OP Offline
B
Hi all

I'm a complete beginner and am thinking about taking up the piano.

What I'm looking for is:
- something that has a degree of portability about it - thinking at this stage of a stage piano type thing (but am a bit concerned as to whether the stands are sufficiently stable as have two 2 year old twins who are very curious)
- something that will have some longevity - so that in a year's/ 2 years time I'm not going regret not getting something better
- has keys that are close to an acoustic so that my kids can use it should they want to do graded music
- price mark up to around £2000, but will require more persuasion of my wife as this number goes over £1000 and will take longer before purchase.
- Whilst I realise that to learn i would probably do better just having the piano without all the other bits, I can't help looking at the other stuff too...

I've had a look at a couple of pianos, but the problem is being a complete beginner its really difficult to have much appreciation as to whether the action is going to be something I like of not. Nevertheless to give you an idea of what I've looked at:
- the Yamaha Clavinovas - really appealing but i fear the portability option will preclude it
- the Yamaha dgx640 - seems like a nice choice, but seems a bit ugly, and the speakers don't look that good so will need to add something