2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Pianoteq
Steinway Spiro Layering
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
38 members (bluebilly, antune, clothearednincompo, 1903wrightflyer, ChrisGoesPiano, brennbaer, Bob A, brdwyguy, 8 invisible), 303 guests, and 390 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
D
OP Offline
D
So I've been playing piano for a little over a year now, completely self-taught. I've actually been progressing fairly quickly. Just to give you an idea of where I'm at, I just finished learning all of Words Left Unsaid and Overcome by David Nevue. Right now I'm in the process of learning Monday by Ludovico Einaudi (about halfway through this one) and When the Hard Rain Falls by Nevue (just started this the other day, only about a minute into it).

I'm wanting to work my way into composition though. I'm struggling with all the music theory, however. I understand what it all means. I know how keys and the circle of 5ths work, I know how to build my major and minor scales. I have a decent understanding of chords (I know how inversions work, chord progressions, etc.).