2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
55 members (1200s, 36251, benkeys, 20/20 Vision, anotherscott, bcalvanese, Brendan, 1957, 10 invisible), 1,771 guests, and 328 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
M
MacDan Offline OP
OP Offline
M
I am a new adult student who is trying to narrow down the possibilities for a DP to use for practice and play until I become proficient, at which time I would expect to move on to an acoustic piano.

I have been considering the Casio AP-220, and possibly the AP-420. One of the sellers I have been speaking to about my choices is trying to get me to move up to the AP-620, primarily due to its ability to play general MIDI files, a feature which the other two models do not possess.

The impetus for such would be to have the ability to utilize some of the resources available for the Faber method, which my teacher will be using. I am told that there are a number of resources for practice and such that are available, but only in the general MIDI format.

I am a long time Mac (Apple) computer user, and have several programs on my various Macs that can play general MIDI files. With the USB interface that even the AP-220 has, is the piano's ability to play general MIDI files itself even an issue?

I love the AP-620, but it's really out of my budget range. Not only that, but I really want to concentrate on piano, and I'm not interested (at this time) in all of the additional features.

Thanks,

Dan

Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member