2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
37 members (Charles Cohen, Animisha, benkeys, Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, brennbaer, 9 invisible), 1,137 guests, and 316 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
OP Offline
I have been giving lessons to two boys for about two months. When they signed on, it was revealed that Grandma would be paying for lessons.

I was told that she wanted to meet me at our 4th lesson. They requested that I was there 15 minutes early so we could visit. When I showed up that day, she was not there.

Today I arrived at my usual time and there she was. She wanted to talk to me right then and there about my music degree and where I was schooled and my experience. I calmly told her that I did not have time to do this as I had back to back lessons. She asked me to email her my resume.

I jotted down her email.

I am not going to send her my resume. I am going to write her a letter with my philosophy, experience and personal intent as a teacher. It will be interesting to see where this leads. I am very attached to those little boys and they seem to like me too. But I am their third teacher in a short period of time and grandma is "a character" as her son and daughter in law put it.

I will keep you all posted on this interesting scenario. But I have to admit...sometimes when someone else is paying...a red flag goes up for me.

M. Katchur
Y
Y
Sounds frustrating...

If grandma is so bothered about who she's paying shouldn't she have found out this stuff BEFORE you actually started teaching them?