2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
53 members (AlkansBookcase, baronzo, astrotoy, 5/1/19249, Chris B, benkeys, Barry_Braksick, Dore, 36251, 11 invisible), 1,490 guests, and 472 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
N
nadi15 Offline OP
OP Offline
N
Hi, I've been learning piano for about 4 years, I decided about a month ago that it's time for an upright piano. since then, the buying procces has been pretty exhausting, I was hoping you can help me and answer some of my questions because the dealers arent exactly reliable.

our initial budget(me and my parents) was 4000$ but since then we understood the importance of investing in a fine piano and it is now 7500$.
perhaps i'm traumatised by years of playing chopin in a Yamaha digital piano but I realy liked the warm, soft, sound of european pianos rahter then the colder, industrial japaneese ones. we just missed out a deal for a 7000$ Seiler Favorit (10-20 yrs), the dealer didn't even have the courtesy to let us know somone else was interested in this piano and sold it to him frown. Used europeans that are relatively new like this are very rare here.

here are my current options In order of my personal favorites:

1. A restored 60 years old Schimmel-5000$- realy liked this one, but isn't it risky buying an old piano? is it gonna stay with me till i'm old and have children of my own? the dealer also had a restored 90 years old Grotrian in a fairly good condition.

2.Brand new Johannes Seiler piano-7000$ it is said to be designed by Seiler company but made in china. liked the sound though.