2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
66 members (36251, anotherscott, Bellyman, Carey, brennbaer, busa, ChickenBrother, 10 invisible), 2,074 guests, and 317 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
M
MacDan Offline OP
OP Offline
M
I am an adult who is finally going to get a bucket list item checked off - taking piano lessons! This is something I have dreamed of since I was a young child.

While I have lurked here for some time in anticipation of this, I am interested in what those who teach would recommend going about interviewing or surveying a piano teacher to find the best "fit"?

I was a voice student in high school many years ago, and I could read music at the time, but I would really prefer to start from the very beginning in the event there are things I don't recall or might not have learned properly.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions or direction!

Dan

M
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
M
If you go to this link, http://www.fmta.org/local.asp you will find a listing for the president of the Tampa chapter of MTNA. This person should know all the local teachers and can probably recommend ones she knows who enjoy teaching adults.

Oftentimes, teachers prefer working with children or have no experience working with adults. You'll want to find someone whose preference is adult students. You will also want to interview with several teachers. At that time, they should go over their studio policy with you and find out some things from you, like what your goals are. You'll probably be able to tell who will be a good fit.

B.A., Piano, Piano Pegagogy, Music Ed.
M.M., Piano