2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
70 members (Barly, 1957, btcomm, brennbaer, Animisha, bobrunyan, 1200s, 36251, 13 invisible), 1,912 guests, and 351 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
P
OP Offline
P
This questions stems from a previous thread I started. But since my question is so specific and more narrow than the original thread, I thought I would put it in a new post.

I'm a traveling teacher (have taught for twelve years) and am revising my piano teaching policies.

I'm leaning toward having students pay yearly tuition -- students will take X number of lessons per year (12 months), pay for it in monthly installments or in full or by semester. The impetus for this is for me to have a more even income throughout the year, rather than to fall off a cliff starting in June. But it's also to have all clients share in the burden of keeping this service viable. Currently, some clients keep me afloat in summer (or at least keep me from sinking altogether) while others are off the entire summer and expect me to be ready and available again when they return in September. Finally, I'm thinking also that if parents think more consciously about how much they're paying each year for piano lessons, they might start to invest more in it, that is pay more attention to practice, etc.

I think I may offer three different options:

1) pay tuition covering 42 lessons per year (Sept. 1 to August 31st); tuition is due upfront, or by semester, or monthly over twelve months.