2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
58 members (APianistHasNoName, Adam Reynolds, Carey, brdwyguy, beeboss, Chris B, Cheeeeee, 10 invisible), 1,853 guests, and 274 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#1937426 08/04/12 07:16 PM
M
Munex Offline OP
OP Offline
M
I'm 17, self-taught for about 5 years and trying to learn Chopin's "Winter Wind" etude. I can currently play the first 2 pages, up to the second descending chromatic scale, but after the scale ends, I'm very slow for the next couple of bars. I haven't learnt any more of the piece after that.

My question is... is it worth continuing trying to learn this piece? I wanted to challenge myself, and have 'mastered' the first 2 pages in a few weeks, but is the rest of the piece much more difficult? Too difficult for me?

The most difficult piece I can currently play is Chopin's Fantasie Impromptu - but only the fast part!

Last edited by Munex; 08/04/12 07:16 PM.
H
6000 Post Club Member
Online Content
6000 Post Club Member
H
Originally Posted by Munex
have 'mastered' the first 2 pages

Let's hear it first.

M
Munex Offline OP
OP Offline
M
Well, I'm sure I'm going to eat those words! I haven't focused on dynamics at all. But, tomorrow, I will upload it to Youtube and post here!

6000 Post Club Member
6000 Post Club Member
Okay I'm sorry but this is a pet peeve of mine -- it's 'learned' not 'learnt'.

So, you're asking if it's worth it.. simple answer is yes. Why would it exist if it wasn't worth learning? It's an etude, constructed to improve technique.