2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
68 members (benkeys, 1200s, aphexdisklavier, akse0435, AlkansBookcase, Alex Hutor, AndyOnThePiano2, amc252, 11 invisible), 1,824 guests, and 276 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
O
osobuco Offline OP
OP Offline
O
Hi all, I am new to pianos and I am looking to get a family instrument for my kids to learn on. Anyway, I have an opportunity to buy a used 1-owner Yamaha G1 5'3" grand made in 1971 for $2700. The piano has not been rebuilt, it is in great shape and has only been moved once since 1971.

What are your opinions of this instrument as well as the price.
thank you!!!

PS - This is NOT on craigslist or a scam - just a widow downsizing.

Last edited by osobuco; 07/27/12 04:48 PM.
S
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
S
If this piano passes an independant inspection by a good piano techniciam, it is a great buy, and would serve your family well.

Piano Industry Consultant

Co-author (with Larry Fine) of Practical Piano Valuation
www.jasonsmc@msn.com

Contributing Editor & Consultant - Acoustic & Digital Piano Buyer

Retired owned of Jasons Music Center
Maryland/DC/No. VA
Family Owned and Operated Since 1937.

500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
Let me guess;

It is on craigslist.

It presently is in storage.

You were asked to buy it thru someone like eBay or Google where you have so many days to inspect the piano and release the funds.

O
osobuco Offline OP
OP Offline
O
No - honest seller - old widow moving to smaller place - not a craigs list scam - believe me I am well aware of those...